Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This is my go-to divinity recipe. I've followed this recipe exactly over a dozen times, and it's turned out beautifully each and every one of them. I use a stand-up mixer, and I do not recommend making this with any other type of mixer. Apologies to my grandma and aunts who used to mix this stuff with a wooden spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I made this yesterday because my husband loves it. It is mess to make. If you follow the directions it will be perfect. Of course not on a rainy or hot day unless it is very cool in the house. The reason is that the candy has to DRY out. So if there is to much moisture in the air it will take days. If you make it and think it is like taffy just leave it out on the counter not covered. It needs to stay out for at least 12 hours. Also it may end up being a little puffy or even flat when you drop on the pan but the next day after it has dried out just roll into a ball or shape it how you like. I also put different flavors on them. I put a blueberry on some and a small pineapple slice. PS I also lightly sprayed my pans with bakers joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Made divinity before and it almost burned my mixer out before it would set up. This divinity was easy to make and turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Great recipe! I used meringue powder to replace the eggs whites. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rwagner2014
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Just finished making it if you cook to 275 degrees and take off heat before pouring onto egg whites it cuts the set time down to about two hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This was my first time making divinity. It was quite easy with a candy thermometer and KA mixer. I live in CO and was worried about the altitude making it take longer but this wasn't the case at all. I'm very pleased with this recipe and will use it every time. I looked up divinity recipes in my family cook book and the only difference was that those recipes called for vinegar instead of salt which was the only deviation I took from this recipe. As I said, it turned out great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhan, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Here's a tip for you... when mixing the syrup into the eggs, place your bowl in a bigger bowl with ice in it. Or if you using a KA stand mixer, hold a few ice cubes in your hand against outside of the metal bowl.) Mixing time was down to five minutes! The idea is to cool it down while incorporating air into mixture. It will really cut down mixing time. Also, for you banana nut lovers, use 1/2 tsp vanilla, and 1 tsp banana flavored extract, then add nuts near end of mixing! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Harman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Been making this recipe for years - Always the best divinity ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha Ann Snyder

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
First batch I did according to directions and have to agree that 260º doesn't cut it. 12 hours later it hasn't hardened. Did a second batch and cooked the syrop to 280º and they're perfect! I'm curious if altitude might also effect the outcome?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is perfect divinity. So easy to make with a KA mixer. I did use pecans instead of walnuts. Certainly didn't take 12 hours to get firm and did not have to turn over. Have made this twice now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States