Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I haven't tasted it yet, but the fact that it actually set up and wasn't a mushy mess is a first for me. I have NEVER had success making divinity until now. Great recipe. It is time consuming though and I'm glad I have a kicthen aid mixer, I can't imagine doing this with a small hand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is my first time making this recipe and it turned out great! I beat the egg whites for a really long time (while I waited for the sugar mixture to hit 260 degrees) and then added the sugar when it finally hit the right "stage". I was surprised at how long I had to beat the two together. I stood and watched my stand mixer, 5 minutes went by, 10 minutes, 12 minutes and then finally right around the 15 minute mark it started to set. Next time I'll probably just put it into a wax paper lined baking pan vs. spooning it out. My grandmother used to do it that way and I think its a bit easier than spooning it. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Lertkantitham Richar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
wow i did it i have tried to make divinity before and it never set this time it did i just kept mixing it with my mixer and it worked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This sounds almost like my Moms recipe except I believe she used pecans. Anyway, weather is important. I think you need cooler, dry weather which is rare here in Florida. lol Even the "failed" batches were yummy to eat. My brother and I would grab a spoon and enjoy the treat. Oh I would love some divinity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
All I can say is....perfection! I have not made divinity in years and I have had success and no success. With this recipe...it was fantastic. You definitely have to have a candy thermometer to get the exact hard ball stage. This will be the only divinity recipe that I use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Excellent recipe. Made this for Christmas goody gifts this past year and everyone loved it. I live in a very humid area and usually divinity doesn't quite work - but this one did. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBBIBRIDGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is the classic divinity recipe I was looking for. Excellent texture-great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This recipe has taught me to read the reviews and to dig through my old tried and true recipes. The weather was great out, low humidity, even held off making this a few days because of humidity but it did not hold shape, and looked like round sand dollars. Again I will make sure to read reviews!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I agree with MARKWPATTERSON...tried twice now and it does not turn out like I expected." I'm trying to freeze it a bit as I type to see if chilling it will work out in some way that will at least make it edible as long as it doesn't get to warm and turn soft again. Guess, I should of read the reviews or did as MARKWPATTERSON did and call my grandmother (married to my grandfather from the deep south whom the recipe I remembered came from!!) Sorry, I just really wanted to make something around the holidays that reminded me of Xmas from my childhood and this hasn't turned out at all. As others said this is hard to cook. Believe me, it certainly is more than difficult to cook and I followed directions to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I have tried this recipe 3 times and all failed. I am a great cook but could not get this to be more than an oozy mess no matter what I tried! I even beat it for 30 min. with a kitchen aid mixer! Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States