Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I would have given it a 5 Star rating if she used 3 egg whites and 1/2 teaspoon of cream of tarter. I like that way better. That said, this is a great recipe. Do not worry about adjusting the water for bad weather if the barometric pressure is 30 or above. You can check that on the web for your area. Any candy will turn out well on that day! Fudge too. Oh, divinity how I love ya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry L Fraser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Due to time constraints with work, I delegated a specific day to make candy. Worst case divinity scenario; I live in Memphis, it is pouring rain, and unless it is August, I don't think the humidity could be any higher. I followed the recipe to a T, including cutting water by 1 Tb. Unbelievably the little suckers came out beautiful!!! However, they did have to be beat almost 20 minutes. Thanks for all the advice reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wyunker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toluca, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
First time making Divinity and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Messy concoction for someone with OCD like myself. Very sweet, but I think it's supposed to be. My kids loved it. Mine was a soft nougat like candy (kind of reminds me of "zero" bars) We shall see if it gets any harder. Other than that, it's a nice change up from cookies etc. I sprinkled mine with some red & green sugar crystals to be festive :) Also, I used my early Christmas present, a Kitchenaid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2zzredhead

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Just finished making this recipe and I am optimistic!.. Having failed in the past at divinity, this recipies instructions were pretty easy to follow with the exception of how long to stir the sugar "until disolved" (was aprox. 3 min for me on med/low.). You don't want to keep stirring because it will turn grainy. The last step takes another 10 minutes with the mixer before it loses shine! I take my hat off to candy makers!.. Whew...the timing here is what is tricky... When done it's very thick/sticky and is hard to spread... I quickly put it in a buttered tin (8x8). It helped to use a piece of waxed paper to push it down into the pan... :) I can't wait to taste a piece of this tomorrow since most reviewers suggest it needs that long to set up right! Added walnuts. :) *** For all the mess it made I would double the recipe next time; doesn't make a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Made it for the first time and it came out great following this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
My first attempt at Divinity and it turned out perfect! This recipe is delicious and very easy to follow. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbertsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is awesome! This was my first time making divinity and turned out great. I had been told that it was hard to make but I found that it was quite easy. However I did not have to dry it for 12 hours mine only dried for 30 min. I followed the suggestions of others and beat it a ton at the end. This was over all a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beth
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe came out beautifully for me. I was making it for my Grandma's birthday and she loved it. It was light and had an awesome consistency. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Awesome recipe! My first time ever making Divinity and it turned out perfect! My Mom and Aunts say it tastes just like their Mama made for them when they were kids. Thanks for helping bring back sweet memories :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsy_Songbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States