Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I tried this 4 times and it never worked right. There was no humidity. I can normally make anything and I spend an enormous amount of time cooking and baking. I cannot figure out exactly where I went wrong but I won't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supermom :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA
Living In: Trenton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Excellent! Just like Mama used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I love this recipe! Be sure not to stir the sugar mixture and don't overcook it! It's delicious stuff though. Oh, another note: Mine didn't have to sit for 12 hours. Mine were dry in about 1-2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLLYGREEN23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Sooooooooooooo yummy. I did use different nuts in each batch to give it variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Zilla

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe. I was a little nervous about mixing this in my stand mixer, but it came out wonderful. It beats having one arm stronger than the other. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAMBILALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Troy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This is the exact recipe I have had in my recipe box from my grandmother for 30 years. Its simple, but not easy. Awesome recipe, but I always had trouble in humid weather. I'll try the reduced water amt to see- fingers crossed! Just an idea, we always make a batch of pink (sm amt of red food color)and a batch of white. Pink always tastes better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Excellent, delicious recipe IF you use a candy thermometer and a standing Kitchenaid type mixer. NEVER try this on a damp/humid day. Follow the directions exactly and WAIT (long time) until the final mixture looks very different (drier, thicker, no shine) and seems to strain the motor of your mixer. Be patient. If you do exactly what the directions say, you will be thrilled with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was an easy recipe to follow. Everything turned out fine, but it didn't blow anyone away-maybe not divinity fans to begin with..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I have tried alot of candy recipes and yes that even included divinity. This recipe for divinity was by far the easiest and the best that I have ever tried and eatten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Oak, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
The divinity turned out great! My first attempt at candy, too. This is the same recipe as the one in my Betty Crocker cookbook. I used one cup of pecans and one T less water, b/c it is always humid where I live. I didn't have a candy thermometer, so I used the cold water/soft ball test. When I dropped it in the water, it formed a rope on the bottom of the glass that I was able to form into a squeezable ball. The syrup was also about to turn color. Don't be in a hurry when you are making this candy. It takes time, be patient and you will be rewarded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States