Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by rwagner2014
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Just finished making it if you cook to 275 degrees and take off heat before pouring onto egg whites it cuts the set time down to about two hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This was my first time making divinity. It was quite easy with a candy thermometer and KA mixer. I live in CO and was worried about the altitude making it take longer but this wasn't the case at all. I'm very pleased with this recipe and will use it every time. I looked up divinity recipes in my family cook book and the only difference was that those recipes called for vinegar instead of salt which was the only deviation I took from this recipe. As I said, it turned out great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhan, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Here's a tip for you... when mixing the syrup into the eggs, place your bowl in a bigger bowl with ice in it. Or if you using a KA stand mixer, hold a few ice cubes in your hand against outside of the metal bowl.) Mixing time was down to five minutes! The idea is to cool it down while incorporating air into mixture. It will really cut down mixing time. Also, for you banana nut lovers, use 1/2 tsp vanilla, and 1 tsp banana flavored extract, then add nuts near end of mixing! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Harman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Been making this recipe for years - Always the best divinity ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
First batch I did according to directions and have to agree that 260º doesn't cut it. 12 hours later it hasn't hardened. Did a second batch and cooked the syrop to 280º and they're perfect! I'm curious if altitude might also effect the outcome?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is perfect divinity. So easy to make with a KA mixer. I did use pecans instead of walnuts. Certainly didn't take 12 hours to get firm and did not have to turn over. Have made this twice now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Back home, divinity is one of the key candy treats my momma would make every year. So this year I dabbled in making it for the 1st time by myself and was rather pleased, it worked out. I choose not to use walnuts as the option because pecans was always the "it" nut in divinity for my family. This recipe, made me nervous but once I got started, there was no stopping. The most difficult part for me was making sure that I was pouring at a slow steady thin stream into my kitchen aid mixer. The end result, was the best when my oldest said it was just like my mom's. Mine were very light but held it's shape, fluffy with that nut crunch texture and pretty darn good looking. I had no problem with set up and totally whip to my hearts content until I saw the slight dulling opaque-ness sheen before I stopped mixing. But you do have to work rather quickly to spoon the divinity on to the wax paper. Mine sat up rather quickly. Thank you so much for this splendid recipe. It's now in the Holiday Treat Book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by cherallan
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Last year was my first attempt at divinity and it failed big time although my daughter loved the taste so she asked me to try again and she didn't care if it failed. She was going to eat it regardless. So after searching recipes and reading lots of reviews, I tried this recipe. I am so happy I did. It takes quite a while so don't be impatient. I found the longest wait was to get the temp to a hard ball stage. I cooked on low and after 45 minutes it was not getting any hotter so I finally turned to a medium. I took off stove exactly when it hit hard ball on my candy thermometer and pored very slowly into egg whites. This must have taken a full five minutes while I kept mixer on high. I continued to beat and thanked God again for my kitchen aid. I beat for another five more minutes or so. I just kept waiting till I saw a "change", although I wasn't exactly sure what I was looking for. Then it happened and instinct just told me it was right. It was thicker and lost shine. Divinity turned out great. I am ready to make another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I really do love divinity but this recipe did not turn out at all for me! :( Mine turned out more like a big hunk bar or taffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelso!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe is great. You can make it even when it is raining as I just used 2 tbls. less water and it turned out perfect. I only make double batches so that is is 1 tbls. less water per batch when it is raining. But you do need a heavy duty mixer unless you have a man around who will help with extra beating. I use a 6 qt. heavy duty mixer. I also add 3/4 cup of chopped pecans per batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States