Divinity Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chrystal Oates
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Great flavor. Easy cookie. The flavors are better when the cookie cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystal Oates

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I was expecting a sweeter taste. It should be butter instead of shortening . They were not "delicate" enough for me, actually the texture was kind of sticky; I felt it was missing something. I had to add extra sugar and cinnamon to compensate that at the end and kind of helped. But I would try a different approach to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eva Villarreal Arzaga ?ï?
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made these, just substituting walnuts with almonds, and they came out really good! I went on reviews and when they were fresh out of the oven I dipped them in a sugar/cinnamon combo and thy turned out great! :) The only issue I had was the baking time... 10-12 minutes was only 1/2 the time. I shared a picture of them, they came out pretty! :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I have made thousands of cookies and this was the worst recipe I have ever made. I directly followed the recipe. It needs to be rewritten to state "combine the first 3 ingredients" not "dry ingredients" as sugar is a dry ingredient. The batter was too dry to roll into balls. There needs to be more liquid, perhaps 2 eggs. There was no flavor. One reviewer mentioned "Pecan Sandies". My Mom used to buy them weekly when I was little and they were always the last cookie to be eaten but they were alot better than this recipe. I only baked one dozen (expecting a bad result) and tossed the whole recipe in the trash. Such a huge waste of my time and money, especially after paying $12.25 for a pound of walnuts!! I feel this recipe doesn't deserve any stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
My mom makes divinity every year at Christmas time, and it's always a hit! I was so happy to find this recipe because I'm too scared to make divinity on my own. These cookies are amazing!!! I only made a few changes. I took the advice of a previous reviewer and added 1/4 tsp. of salt. I also omitted the nuts (as I dislike nuts in my cookies) And since I didn't have any eggs, (which is a shock since we always have eggs on hand) I added 4 TBS. of Milk. The cookies turned out great! I plan to serve them to my family after lunch. I will definitely make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
These are my favorite cookies ever they are so flavorful and great!!!! I recommend adding a teaspoon of almond extract it makes it FANTASTIC!!!!!!! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Delicious cookie - and easy! I tweak by using almond extract instead of vanilla, and adding 1-1/2 tsp. cardamom to the flower. It's one of the yummiest cookies I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very easy to cook and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I made changes to the recipe because as I was making these, I found I didn't have the ingredients I thought I did! I only had 3/4 cup shortening, so I added 1/4 cup oil. Without cream of tartar, I found that a sub would amount to 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder. I used pecans, not walnuts. If I can still rate this favorably, then I must say, "Delicious!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
They taste like baking soda, I even tried cutting down on it when I made them a second time. Big disappointment for me, I loved these cookie from the bakery near my home as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERGRAY04

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States