Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
This was excellent. I have never had any luck making divinity before but this was perfect. It is my mothers favorite and I was able to send her the batch for her birthday. She said it was "DEVINE".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
This has always been my favorite homemade candy and I am so glad to be able to make it and for it to turn out great.Thanks,Mary H. from Louisiana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
Great recipe. I have tried for years to make divinity. This recipe turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
Well, it took me three trys to get it to turn out, but finally I figured it out. The end result was wonderful!!! It is a bit difficult--you have to pay attention, it only took about 15 minutes for it to reach hard ball stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I first tried divinity a year ago when my grandma made it...I was 16. I started trying to make it several time with different recipes but never could. This was the first time with this recipe and as long as you pay attention it was real easy and really good!! If a 17 year old who catches a kitchen on fire evry time she cooks can do it, anyone can!! Its great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This is very close to the recipe I have used for years. (Mine calls for 2 1/2 cups sugar) It really is wonderful. The most important thing to remember when making divinity (actually most candies) is NEVER attempt it during rainy weather or whenever the humidity is high. I live in Louisiana so that limits the days for candy making. If you try to make divinity during high humidity, you will end up with nothing but a white gooey glop of glue! Trust me it's worth waiting for more favorable conditions. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is like my mom's recipe I used for along time. Divinity is a challenge, but well worth the effort. When I am pouring the hot syrup into my egg whites, be sure and pour it slow, I pour it into the beaters alittle at a time, if you pour it to fast it will cook your egg whites. If in the 5 minutes it hasn't lost the gloss, keep mixing, and if your mixer gets to hot, I stir by hand until the divinity just starts to loose its gloss and it is time to drop on your waxed paper. In rainy weather I have had to stir by hand for quite some time, but I have never had trouble making it when it rains except for having to stir it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
This is BY FAR THE BEST divinity recipe! Contrary to what one reviewer stated, this recipe is very specific. I was very happy with the end product. Candy making is a very tedious and sometimes difficult process. Have a deep bowl when you start the 'hot pour' and pour slow in a thin stream. Make it take about 3 to 4 minutes to pour it all. Thanks for a great recipe! :-))))))))) A+++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
Great Divinity! I have not made any in a while, but this still turned out perfectly. It was not grainy at all and I'm in the deep South. I did allow it to heat to the hard ball stage to avoid it being too soft, though. I also added some pecans. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
My mom used to make Divinity every Christmas. It was just like this except she put food coloring in the mix (red or green) to make it more festive than the simple white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prattville, Alabama, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Buddha's Hand Citron

See how to make a unique candied citrus treat.

Pumpkin Seed Brittle

See how to make autumn’s perfect sweet snack.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States