Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
My favourite thing to make during the holidays (good dry winters). I agree, an upright, stand mixer is required to keep your hands free. I added small baking jujubes to the divinity right before dropping them to set - so much better! Absolutely love them this way. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Has a good flavor, but it took nearly 4 times as long to make. I contribute this to the area I live and the humidity. Also, don't try this without a kitchenaid or you will be mixing forever. Also, do it with the dryest weather possible. The cookbook I have said to cook the mixture to 260 instead, I am going to try that next time to see if it works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Neevel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This turned out perfect, thanks to my new stand mixer. It took me less than 30 minutes, start to finish. My mom used to make this when I was little and this recipe is even better than either of us remember. It will definitely be a "keeper" for us. Next time I will try it with gelatin to flavor it. I "dropped" it on to wax paper without too much trouble and it set up really quickly. Wonderful, wonderful! Can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This makes such a pretty candy. Thank God for my Kitchen Aid mixer. I wouldn't suggest this recipe without a good mixer and a second set of hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
VERY, VERY, good!! I just loved this recipe. I will keep this one and always use it. I just want to thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Perfect Recipe!!! I takes about 20 min. though to loose it's gloss and then it doesn't totaly loose it. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I've made this recipe 5 times now. Only once did I use a stand alone mixer (Xmas present!). The hand mixers worked ok for me, though the last time I used a hand mixer, I could smell the motor burning. Oddly enough, I didn't need to mix it as long with the hand mixer. The divinity turned out every time. I've made it with & without nuts (prefer pecans). I've also used various extracts instead of vanilla (coconut, orange, cherry, etc). I'm the farthest from Martha Stewart, and this was an easy recipe for me to follow with good results! Thanks for the keeper! My co-workers adore it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This recipe worked great. But it took a few tries. The first time I used pasturized egg whites from a carton and it flopped. You can't uses pasturized eggs!! The next time I used real egg whites, followed the instructions to the letter except that I allowed the sugar mixture to cool to 110 before adding it to the egg whites. You must pour SLOWLY. I had a couple changes to the ingredients:I did not have any light corn syrup, so I used dark, still worked fine and tasted wonderful. I also added walnuts just before I scooped it out for crunch and that worked great. It does take patients and a good stand mixer, but it is worth all the work. I plan to do this again and experiment with different flavors and colors. Maybe some pink and blue for Easter, green for St. Patty's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This tastes great and I have a kitchen aid mixer so it was very easy to make.. untill it got to putting it on the wax paper. How ironic that "Divinity" fudge is such a hassle. Tastes great but I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Mixer alert! My sturdy, all-around wonderful Kitchen Aid hand mixer died in a shower of sparks and smoke. Take the advice of others and only make this if you have a stand mixer. The gooey mixture I ended up with was tasty, but not the candy I wanted to give to mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Buddha's Hand Citron

See how to make a unique candied citrus treat.

Pumpkin Seed Brittle

See how to make autumn’s perfect sweet snack.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States