Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
It turned out perfect. I had to mix it for about 5 minutes longer than the recipe says but once it was dull, it was perfect and looks awesome. I did use my kitchenaid which is a MUST. I used the whisk attachment and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I just made this recipe exactly the way it is and it turned out excellent. I can't believe I finally tried making this candy again and this time it worked. Previously tried another recipe for it on this website and it didn't turn out. This recipe was easy to make and is delicious! I have a Kitchen Aid mixer and used it for making this. Exellent, wouldn't change a thing. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
If your divinity fails, let it sit out overnight uncovered and the next day scoop about a teaspoon in between 2 pretzels. I used the tiny pretzel twists, but the circle or waffle pretzels would work even better. The salty pretzel with the sweet, goopy mess is so addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Made the recipe exactly as listed. It took about 20 minutes of mixing to lose most of the glossiness. I added chopped pecans the last couple minutes of mixing. This stuff is soooooo good!!!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I'm very happy to report that I was able to successfully make divinity after my 4th attempt. This round, I bought a decent candy thermometer, and cooked the syrup mixture to 260, hard ball stage. I also swtched from electric hand beaters to an electric stand mixture, which made all the difference. I'm in the NorthWest, and during a heatwave, so the humidity was a problem. I thought I was going to end up with another sloppy sticky mess, but stubbornly continued to drop the dough into spoonfuls on waxpaper. They started out as runny blobs, but as I continued, the dough began to stiffen and become lighter, also hold its shape better. I think that next time I will allow the dough to cool a bit before putting it onto wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonjelly
Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Worth 5 stars! Such a sinch to make. Thx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kountrygal1965

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I used this recipe as my first time making Divinity as a gift for my mother who absolutely loves it. It came out perfectly!! I used my stand mixer to combine everything and later read in another cookbook that its best to stop the mixer when adding the syrup to keep from making a mess. I didn't do that and ended up with syrup all over the side of the mixer bowl. No matter though, it still turned out awesome and I will for sure make it again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Firs time to make divinity and I'm no cook. Looks like it came out out ok and taste ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
way too firm. Beating it for 5 minutes after the syrup and the egg whites come together is way too long. I will try again and adjust time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This was very good and surprisingly easy to make! I topped some of them with pecan halves, and then some others with crushed candy canes. It took about 15 minutes for it to start losing its glossiness(maybe a tad bit longer). Had to work quickly to keep the balls smooth textured looking. The "dough" is actually very malleable and so it is easy to shape into precise balls if you want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xjsbellamias13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Buddha's Hand Citron

See how to make a unique candied citrus treat.

Pumpkin Seed Brittle

See how to make autumn’s perfect sweet snack.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States