Divine Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
Something made this taste horrible when I made it, and I can't figure out what it was, as I followed the recipe. Smelt delicious simmering away all day, but when I went to taste it, ugh! Even after trying to doctor it to suit my families tastes, most of it ended up in the rubbish. Will stick with my quick spaghetti sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
This is the best homemade spaghetti sauce I've ever made! I won't be buying canned anymore...and it's great, because it makes a huge pot which can be stored in freezer bags in the freezer for quick meals. I did add about 2 tsp of sugar to cut down on the acidity and a 1/4 tsp of pepper but other than that the recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Take away the mushrooms and this is a great spaghetti sauce. Of course that is my opinion, I just don't like mushrooms. The recipe even tastes great when only simmered for 30 minutes. this is a all around great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I was totally disappointed in this sauce. I used less seasonings than the recipe called for and it was still too much. None of my family liked it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauri Monteyne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
My husband and I love this sauce! I have changed the ingredients a bit. I use a pound of hamburger and mild sausage, a green pepper and yellow pepper, garlic powder, sugar, and garlic, basi diced tomatoes. This is the best sauce that I have ever made. Very chunky and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
A little spicer than the family liked. I personally loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This recipe is so good. I also used the Del Monte tomatoes as one review suggested. The result is worth the time it takes to cut up all those veggies. The recipe "scaled" to 7 actually makes enough for about 14, so there's lots left over to freeze. Thanks Lana for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I thought this was great (and I have had other homemade before). My family likes the thick, chunky sauces so it suited us perfectly.Freezes great too! Have made several times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Five stars the first day, ten the second. I just had a bowl of leftovers and it was even better than last night. Yum. Since so many reviews mentioned how chunky it was, I took the suggestion of another review and swapped one can of tomatoes for a can of tomato sauce. Turned out perfect. Next time I will make a double or triple batch for some to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
THIS WAS A GOOD SAUCE..I ADDED SOME SUGAR, A CAN OF TOMATO SAUCE AND A LITTLE EXTRA RED PEPPER FLAKES..IM NOT SURE I WILL MAKE THIS OFTEN BUT IT WAS TASTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States