Divine Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
One of the best sauces I've made, it's a keeper and even better the next day as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Very good. I grate 1 zucchini and toss in some spinach and maybe even diced carrot as well - basically any veggie in the fridge. I do not however add 2 cans tomato paste. Yuck! 1/2 of a small one was plenty. 1/2 cup red wine is a must! And if you dont want to crush tomatoes - just buy a jar of quality herbed sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Very rich in flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
fantastic sause, that is well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Wonderful, hearty, and chunky spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This sauce isn't too bad. I'm not a big fan of celery in my spaghetti sauces, so I left that part out. Others have mentioned adding some salt, just add to your taste. I added a little. As for the itilian seasoning, that is fine, just don't add the basil at the end. I like basil, so I didn't mind it. Others said it had a strong basil taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Very good. I followed advise from others and only used one green pepper instead of 2. I used half ground beef, half italian sausage. Threw about three tablespoons sundried tomatoes too and a clove or two more garlic and 2 tablespoons sugar. Put in slow cooker 6 hours on high. Very good, this one is a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
WOW! This is one supergood recipe. I never used to like homemade spaghetti sauce because they were always lacking in flavor..but not this one..it's yummy! This time I used fresh tomatoes out of my garden because it's that time of year (guess I used about 10 med. size) plus I cut back on the Italian seasoning & only used about 1 1/2 Tbsp. & it was just right, not overpowering. Also, used only 2 bay leaves. With any spaghetti sauce, (even the jar stuff) I always add about 2 Tbsp. of brown sugar as it takes the "bite" out of the tomatoes from the acid in them. My sister-in-law told me about this years ago & I've been doing it ever since. Thanks for a great recipe Lana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I liked this recipe, but in the end I had to add 1 1/2 tbs of sugar to sweetin it a little and it definitely needs salt. Also it was a little to spicy for my kids to eat. Next time if I made it again I would half the red pepper flakes. I think it was better on noodles or dipping with breadsticks, than by itself. I might look for another recipe to try. I don't know if I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States