Divine Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Pretty good. A little on the spicy side. I like a more juicy sauce, but this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
too much Italian seasoning and not saucy enough, use more than 1 can of tomato paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I just tasted after about 5 hours of cooking in a slow cooker, and OH, is that some good sauce. I did make a few changes. I used ground turkey breast instead of beef. I used one 28oz can of diced tomatoes, Italian style, one 28oz can of tomato sauce, and only one can of paste. I also used one green pepper, eliminated the celery, all my herbs were dry (used 2tbsps italian seas, 3/4 tbsp basil, a dash of red pepper, a little salt and ground pepper, a tbsp sugar, and 2 dry bay leaves). Fresh would have been better, I just didn't have fresh. This is a great base sauce, you can add or subtract the seasonings to your taste. I Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe is great! I altered it after reading some of the reviews; used only 1 gr pepper, 2 stalks celery, 2tsp Italian seasoning, pinch of pepper flakes, 2 tsp sweetner, and a small can of tomato sauce. It was thick as mentioned but delish, i would definatley make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Excellent tasting recipe. My husband said it was his favorite dish of all that I've cooked. I tweeked it a little bit since I didn't have a few of the ingredients. For the tomatoes, I had one 28 oz chopped tomatoes on hand so I used in addition 4 fresh roma tomatoes peeled. Also, I omited celery since i didn't have any. I added some salt and 2 tabelspoons of sugar. All of my herbs were dry. The bay leaves I used were chopped and also dry...about 1 tablespoon. I let the sauce simmer for almost 8 hours. The best part about this dish, my husband said he could see himself eating this at a fancy italian restaurant....now that's a COMPLIMENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUV2COOK25

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I thought this recipe was just ok. I don't think I would make it again. Too much tomato paste .. and green peper. It smelled good cooking all day though, but the flavor didn't live up to the aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I guess "taste" is a matter of taste. I prepared this sauce exactly as prescribed and thought something was "amiss". I added a little salt, a little sugar and some red wine. I think if I try this recipe again I'll skip the celery. Still not a bad sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Delicious! The best spaghetti sauce I've ever had. I made these changes like a lot of others: --Put tomato paste and tomatoes in a blender and puree instead of mashing them --Only 2 tbsp of Italian seasoning --Add 1/2 cup of red wine --A little less red pepper--depends on your taste --Add 2 tbsp of brown sugar. It helps to negate the acidic bite of the tomatoes and lets the other flavors come through I only had time to let it simmer for 2 hours and it was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Good sauce. I like the flavor the vegetables add to the sauce and cooking all day is the key. To save time and pans I cooked my beef then added it to the totatoes and tomato paste in the crock pot. I then used the same pan to cook my vegetables. I put the fresh basil and some fresh oregano in just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
after making the changes that other reviewers suggested (half the peppers and tomato sauce), this recipe was well liked by my family. I only had 1 1/2 hours to cook it but it was still yummy and the house smelled great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States