Divine Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Jayashiangel
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
GREAT Sauce.. Made in Crockpot___I had to change a few things do to what I had on hand. Ground Italian Turkey Meat/No mushrooms/No green peppers/No Bay Leaf. I sub roasted red peppers/hot pepper for the red pepper flakes. Use this sauce to make Lasagna it was the best one yet..I plan to use this sauce from now on no more store bought junk..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I'm giving this recipe 3 stars "as is" but I made some changes and think it's better. In addition to the ground beef I added some Italian sausage. Mashing up the whole tomatoes didn't work to great so next time I am going to use stewed tomatoes. I omitted the red bell pepper. I used canned mushrooms instead of fresh although if you are a mushroom lover I'm sure fresh would be better. Four bay leaves is a bit overwhelming. I think cutting it back to two would be much better. I used a tablespoon of dried basil instead of two tbsps. fresh. I will make this recipe with my changes again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
this recipe turned out AWESOME!! I have 4 children and they all actually sat at the table, quietly eating, for 15 minutes longer than usual. I am amazed. my DH raved at the authentic italian taste and texture, a real keeper...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeecooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This sauce was a disappointment. The bell peppers were overpowering and there was too much bay flavor. Also, it gave several people who ate it gas. I'm still on the look out for THE spaghetti sauce. BTW except for using the crock pot and reducing some of the flavorings (not the bay) I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I too love sweetness in my sauce, however, I do not like to add sugar. A friend of ours, who did go to culinary school made a sauce & his was awesome with a beautiful sweetness.. not a sugary artificial one. I asked his secret, I knew he would not add sugar either. He said he adds crushed rosemary. Wonderful! Makes all the difference in taste & no added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missalee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fletcher, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Like a lot of other people, I customized a lot, but this was the first time I've made my own pasta sauce and it turned out fantastic with raves from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I have found some great recipes on this site over the years, but I did not care for this recipe. With the peppers and celery in it, it reminded me more of chili (with different spices, of course!) than it did spaghetti sauce. I certainly won't be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali McCance

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Great rich zesty flavor in this one! Lots of spices and it certainly looked delicious too right from the start. This even had a bit of heat too with the crushed red pepper flakes, which my son didn't like, but I loved. I used a potato masher to try to get the whole tomatoes mashed according to directions, but stopped a sorta chunky as it was too much work and didn't matter anyway to my family. I used plenty of shortcuts but tried to stick as close to the written recipe as possible. I used dried minced onion, dried basil, dried minced celery flakes, a small can of sliced mushrooms, and a can of diced tomatoes with diced green peppers already in it, so I saved all the chopping time and prep work. I added a tsp of salt, and then about 3 Tbs sugar to tame some of the acid. This was good, but it didn't make our favorites list. Thanks Lana for posting this, I had fun making something new and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
one look at this sauce simmering on the stovetop is enough to trigger ur salivary glands and one whiff of this sauce will make you think u're in the fanciest italian restaurant in town! When i made this sauce for my mom, i substituted the ground beef with ground turkey breast, used one green bell pepper instead of two and used two cans of diced tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes. Although this sauce was very stimulating visually and olfactorily, i must say it was lacking in the "taste" area. I found the sauce to be quite bland. This recipe makes a good base sauce, but if i were to make it again, i would definitely add some salt as well as a dash of brown sugar to balance out tangy tomato taste. Thank you to the recipe submitter! hope this review helps =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
It was so so-- it smelled great but the taste was nothing special. And it was really sour- needs sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States