Divine Hard-Boiled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
After the fifteen minute cooking time has passed, I take off the shells under running cold water. It seems to help remove the shells better. Then I refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food-Lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I have used this method to cook eggs for over 30 years, it is the best and fool-proof. I have always called them Hard-cooked Eggs, because there is no boiling involved. Also, living at a high altitude (5,000 feet) , I leave them in the hot water 30 minutes, and they have always been perfect. It took me a long time to figure out that older eggs work best as some other reviewers mentioned. Basic tips like this one are so appreciated. Thanks for posting. Bobbi Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Using older eggs makes the peeling easier. The egg material shrinks when eggs get a few days old so it creates a little bit of air within the shell. Makes all the difference in peeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This is a so-so way for the perfect boiled egg(s). First KEY ingredient that is missing- SALT! Adding salt to the water for boiling will make the shells MUCH easier to peel after they cool (and it does NOT make the eggs salty at all, unless a shell cracks during the boil process). Another reviewer is right- never boil more than 12 eggs at a time (using a large pot). And it must be a ROLLING boil, NOT a full boil- they will not cook proper! Also, you MUST start with the eggs at room temp! Cold eggs do not boil well, or peel easy. Cold eggs is also what can cause discoloration (the green) to the yolk after hard boiling. Set the eggs out to reach room temp, add a bit of salt to the water, then follow directions from there... much better outcome! This is also kind of a lengthy process. Placing salt in the water w/ room temp. eggs, bring to a boil for 10 minutes (or as needed), letting the water cool, then rinsing the eggs in cold water before peeling usually works the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I tried this cooking procedure, twice. Both total failures. Eggs whites were runny as were the yokes! After the first time, I thought I must have goofed up the timer. After the second ruined batch, I thought about it and noticed the recipe does NOT specify the size of the eggs (I used extra large)! Nor does it say if the eggs are put in the water from the fridge or started at room temperature - both the egg size and the starting temp of the egg makes a difference! Adjust your cooking time if you are using extra large eggs - as I was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is the ticket! The eggs are done perfectly. Seems strange the first time you cook them, but they make the perfect eggs!!eggs are a little hard to peel but you have to deal with that at times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsheridan35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Perfect every time. I hadn't made boiled eggs in a very long time and remembered a version similar to this. I think the cooling process in this recipe is what makes these eggs so "divine."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This works like a charm, but I have a tip for those out there with induction stove tops. The water comes to a boil so quickly, you can't follow this recipe verbatim. You need to bring the water to a boil more slowly, like a normal cook top would do. I set my stove to 8 for 7 minutes, then turn it to high until it comes to a full boil; but this is when I do a full dozen eggs. Rest of the recipe works like a charm. Took me a few attempts to get this right on my cook top when I first got it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This worked out okay but I am much more comfortable and confident simmering them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Cooked them as instructed with a dash of salt and vinegar added and they came out perfect all 4 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoLinex

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Crab-Stuffed Deviled Eggs

Simple deviled eggs are stuffed with crab then topped with even more crab.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States