Divine Cherry Chocolate Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I scaled down to fit my 2qt kitchen aide maker. Following above instructions I had a problem....custard curdled first time. Now,I have made lotsa custard and never had issues. I think it's the jarred Cherry juice. Second time I didn't add Cherry juice till after custard made and it came out great. I tweaked recipe to my liking and as soft serve it is an absolute copycat of famous B&J's (per my Hubby the taste tester). It's now in freezer to firm up for stepsons 17th birthday. This was his flavor request. I will post my recipe on all recipes seeing how it's my own version....look for it soon, once I have pic of finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Tried this recipe yesterday and loved it!! The only thing I changed was, I used double chocolate (Ghirardelli, yum!) instead of bittersweet chocolate. I wouldn't change anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Oh, oh, oh, MAN is this stuff good! I used homemade maraschino cherries and juice and Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips. My kids and I had to taste test the custard part (before it was even cool!) because it smelled so good. I'm now out of cherries, so it's back to the store I go to start the four-day process all over again. Soooooo worth it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Very good! Made just as called for. It was about 2c. too much for my kitchen aide ice cream attachment, so I let it freeze up a bit and scooped some out and then added in the remaining. This is my husbands fave ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Wow! This is the recipe I have been looking for. I thought there were a lot of eggs in this one compared to other recipes I found. But it is sooo good. I'm glad I didn't adjust. I had a hard time finding bittersweet chocolate, but I'm so glad I went to the second store and got it. This really is divine. I didn't change a thing except I didn't have whole milk so I just replaced 1 cup milk with the heavy cream. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I chose this ice cream so that I'd stay the heck out of it, maraschino cherry and dark chocolate not EVEN close to trippin' my trigger. Great choice because I knew it would still be right up Hubs' alley. I scaled this to 8 servings to accomodate my 1-1/2 quart ice cream maker. For added richness, I used my preferred ratio of 2 c. cream to 1 c. of half and half. After I chopped the (high quality) chocolate it reaffirmed for me I had made an excellent choice to keep my spoon out of the bowl - TOO much chocolate, I thought! After mixing in the maraschino cherry juice (which kind of weirded me out) it wasn't quite pink enough for me so I added a couple of drops of red food coloring, just to make it a pretty, soft pink. I thought the amount of almond extract would be too much too, but I thought, "Oh, go for it. Who cares. You're not eating this anyway, and you'll stay true to the recipe for rating purposes." I plodded on. I knew the base would be good - rich, frozen egg custard, just what I grew up with in Wisconsin and adore. I mixed the chocolate and cherries into the ice cream AFTER it was churned, as my ice cream maker warns against any add-ins larger than a chocolate chip. I let the ice cream ripen in the freezer for several hours before I served Hubs his dessert tonight and, strictly because I had to rate it, tried a little spoonful. And then another. And another. Just like a creamy, chocolate covered cherry cordial I thought! This stuff is awesome good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Great flavor! I used dark chocolate instead of bittersweet and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Rich, creamy, delicious. I added 2 jars of maraschino cherries and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This makes too much for the typical 1 quart ice cream maker. Be sure to cut down the recipe so you don't have a mess on your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This ice cream was amazing! My husband declared it as his new favorite, and the kids devoured theirs as well. The consistency was VERY creamy, and it had a really great cherry taste. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States