Divine Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I love the version of this recipe that I used to make years ago. Unfortunately, I have lost it, so I am now here looking for it. The ingredients I remember using are much the same as those listed by J.D. It did use tomato sauce rather than paste. I do not recall using Worcestershire sauce, I think I did use garlic powder. But the most significant difference is the addition of fresh bell pepper and fresh green onion, chopped, that is added to the cheese mixture. Because they are added raw they don't become over-cooked while baking. They give a lovely bright green contrast to the white cheese and red sauce, plus add a lot of flavor and crunch.Oh, and there was no butter in the recipe I used. My main project now is getting all the amounts correct!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I made this tonight with a few changes due to the reviews and it came out great! First I used a jar of sauce. Then I changed the cottage cheese to part skim ricotta. After I put the noodles and meat in, I put chopped fresh mushrooms and broccoli...then the cheese mix. I tossed the top noodles with a little bit of sauce and sprinkled with mozzarella cheese. Everyone loved it and had seconds too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
I agree this recipe is extremely bland and for crying out loud the amount of butter used in this recipe is "scary". The blandness was prevelant even after adding extra worchestire sauce and adding more hot sauce I used margarine instead of butter and I used light cream cheese light sour cream and lowfat cottage cheese. Possibly ricotta would be better and tomato paste with roasted garlic. I think I will try again and work it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
This recipe is very bland, and certainly not worth the extreme fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
OMG, SOOOOOO good! We loved it. I had leftover spaghetti sauce, so I jsut used that instead of the meat mixture this recipe called for. I made the yummy cheese filling, and added about 1 cup of grated motzza and about 1/2 cup of grated cheddar. I then sprinkled about 1 cup of cheddar on top of the casserole as well after it was all assembled. So good! Very quick too. It's deffinetly one of thoes Stick To Your Ribs kidna meals, good for a cold night. The leftovers are great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
My family loves this recipe. I don't change a thing and they gobble it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I love this. I add lots of hot sauce to the ground beef mix and put onions in it instead of the cheese mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FELINEFANATIC
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Only problem was that it was too dry. I suggest baking it covered, and/or adding some tomato or spaghetti sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I did not use ANY butter and I also used fat free cream cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This was a bit dry for our taste. I ended up adding spaghetti sauce to the leftovers and everyone liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States