Divine Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
This recipe is very bland, and certainly not worth the extreme fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
I agree this recipe is extremely bland and for crying out loud the amount of butter used in this recipe is "scary". The blandness was prevelant even after adding extra worchestire sauce and adding more hot sauce I used margarine instead of butter and I used light cream cheese light sour cream and lowfat cottage cheese. Possibly ricotta would be better and tomato paste with roasted garlic. I think I will try again and work it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
My mom had made this dish, and it was the bestest! I loved it because it wasn't spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This recipe is pretty tastey, especially for cheese lovers. I used low fat / fat free ingredients to help reduce the fat content, and I substituted Ricotta for the Cream Cheese. Next time I will probably use Tomato Sauce instead of tomato paste - I did not like the texture or taste of the paste alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I love the version of this recipe that I used to make years ago. Unfortunately, I have lost it, so I am now here looking for it. The ingredients I remember using are much the same as those listed by J.D. It did use tomato sauce rather than paste. I do not recall using Worcestershire sauce, I think I did use garlic powder. But the most significant difference is the addition of fresh bell pepper and fresh green onion, chopped, that is added to the cheese mixture. Because they are added raw they don't become over-cooked while baking. They give a lovely bright green contrast to the white cheese and red sauce, plus add a lot of flavor and crunch.Oh, and there was no butter in the recipe I used. My main project now is getting all the amounts correct!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
I certainly agree with others that have tried this recipe. The texture once out of the oven was quite dry. I added tomato sauce to the top and warmed in the oven for an extra 10 minutes. This recipe is flavourful but the extra fat I could do without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
It smelled good, but it was dry after it sat overnight. The butter was a little too much. It didn't taste any good after it sat. Wasn't a normal casserole dish later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASEYHUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I love this recipe! If you don't have tomato paste, you can use canned tomatoes. Or if you have ricotta instead of cottage cheese, use that. It's always delicious. A wonderful recipe to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
My family loves this recipe. I don't change a thing and they gobble it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This casserole had alot of flavor, however, I thought that it was not enough sauce to it; maybe next time I will use tomato sauce vs. tomato paste. Also, I think adding mushrooms and maybe some mozzarella or cheddar cheese would make it better. I did not think that adding the melted butter made it overly rich, as some people complained about - - the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States