Divine Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This recipe was easy to make, and it tasted good. The combination of garlic and raisins was interesting but worked nicely. Okay, now I want to add to my original review. I had the leftovers cold for lunch the next day. I added a few pecans and some cold leftover orange roughy. This was really good. The flavor developed quite a bit overnight, and the raisins added a nice sweetness. I'll make this again, but will chill it overnight and serve it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
The sauce is gourmet. The mixture of wine and raisins is fantastic. My guests requested I make it several more times! Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I was looking for a quick asparagus dish that was different from the typical ones that I make. This fit the bill perfectly. It was beautiful to look at and thought the green and red colors would be fabulous for a Christmas buffet. I think this would also be terrific as a cold salad with toasted pecans or walnuts. Quick, elegant and tasty. Only use very fresh asparagus; if not, it will taste bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
at first I thought about not adding the raisins but wonderfully suprised to find it all tasted great! My guests loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephen tunnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swanquarter, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bynum, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I love asparagus but this was not good hot or cold the next day.Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLHETRICK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This recipe wasn't bad and people were intrigued with the combination of raisins and asparagus but I didn't think it had enough flavor. I guess I was hoping for more taste out of the raisins and wine and garlic combination. The asparagus did come out nice and tender though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chadwicks, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
This was okay...Nothing really special about it except for the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
The taste was different and I will use a different wine next time. The merlot was a bit strong for the asparagus and took away some of the garlic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I used extra garlic and also a bit of salt. Had no raisins on hand but was pleased with the mixture of the butter/wine/garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Truly yummy!!!! I forgot the raisins though so I will have to try that next time:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States