Ditalini with Roasted Tomato Sauce and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Love, Love, Love, Love this sauce. So easy to make I don't think I'll ever use jarred sauce again! I didn't make the Ditalini, but used this sauce in roasted veggie lasagna, and what else can I say. . . YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Too much oregano for my taste, and no Basil??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sobieski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I used the idea, and experimented a bit. To 5 lbs of fresh roma tomatoes from our garden, I added 2 large onions, 2 large green peppers, lots of fresh oregno, and a small pile of garlic (along with generous olive oil, of course)! Baked for 1hr 10 min, then left it in the oven til all the heat was dissipated. I ended up with a delicious concentrated slurry to serve as a base for our marinara. I added 2 cans of tomato sauce and simmered. We added sweet Italian sausage cut in bite-size chunks (pre-fried), plus a lb or so of pre-fried ground beef (plenty of pepper, a bit of salt). The idea of carmelizing these ingredients is genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Made this tonight with fresh tomatoes, just added some extra garlic, and fresh basil and oregano. Great! We'll be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I LOVED this recipe! The sauce is absolutely delicious, however I would recommend doubling the serving size- when I made this for some friends the sauce was literally gone before half of the pasta was even touched. Needless to say everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by orlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
The house smells so good when I make this sauce. I did not add any water afterwords,so it would stay nice and thick. It Makes the best pizza sauce. Awesommmeee! I have made it twice now. First time with dried oregano still awesome.the second time with all fresh herbs even more better! Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Simple but very good. What more can I say? Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Oh. My. Goodness! Really, really, really great sauce. Did I mention this sauce was really great? You must buy the San Marzano tomatoes. I didn't think they would make a difference, but then I thought, why would Chef John lie? He wouldn't!! I quadrupled the recipe for a large office lunch, with a few cups left over to stash in the freezer. I paired this with the World's Fastest Meatballs (also by Chef John), to make meatball subs. I also used this sauce with stuffed mushrooms and it was heaven. I could drink this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Our home grown San Marzano tomatoes, garlic, herbs and onions made this sauce into absolute perfection. I wish there was some way to preserve the aroma of the roasting vegetables, it is pure heaven. Aside from using fresh tomatoes, we followed the recipe to the letter and will continue to do just that since there is no way to improve on this wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This tomatoes sauce was delish! Thank you for sharing the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States