Disappearing Marshmallow Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Not paying close enough attention to the recipe, I mistakenly threw in 2-1/2 cups of marshmallows rather than the 2 cups called for. Now I don't know if that extra half cup made these brownies better or worse, but oh my gosh these were good! After having one in order to rate this recipe, I'm ashamed to even reveal how many I had after that! These were butterscotchy and chocolatey, perfectly moist, with a funny little bumpy, crackly top--so pretty! Quick and easy to throw together, with amazing results. Individual oven temps and baking pan types can, of course, affect the baking time, but mine were perfect at 24 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
These have been my favorite brownies for 18 years now! Growing up my best friends mother made these (with 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips though)and I've loved them ever since. I now make these for my own kids who love them too. These are very rich, moist,and flavorful with the butterscotch & marshmallow making them distinctive. (I can't fathom anyone thinking they are "hard and tasteless"!?) I have found that I need to cook them for 28 minutes or else they are slightly undercooked. (My original 18 yr. old recipe card says 20-25 minutes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
These are really, really good. I would almost be tempted to use more butterscotch chips, but then, I really like butterscotch. But they are extremely good when made as is. I did bake them for 25 minutes instead of 20, but next time I may try the 20 first just to see how they turn out when done at that time instead. They do tend to stick to the pan, so I'd suggest making sure your pan is greased really, really well. But they're definitely worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2000
If you are looking for an elegant bar that is almost too pretty to eat, forget this one. But if you're looking for rich, chewy, ooey, gooey, can't eat just one (or three) delight--this is the ticket! Really fun and soooooo delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This is basically the recipe I used about 25 years ago when my kids were young, and the brownies are just as good today as they were then. The melted butter and butterscotch chips really make it rich, and the marshamallows make a nice crust and give a good chewiness. I did bake for longer than specified by this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
These were totally amazing and very much a keeper to be made again. I used 2 cups of choco chips since I didn't have any butterscotch on hand, and melted both cups with the butter on the stove instead of just melting one cup in the microwave with the butter and reserving the other. I also baked them for the full 20 minutes and at first they still seemed like they weren't quite done yet, but i'm glad I didn't bake them any longer because after cooling they turned out just right. Thank you for sharing this recipe and the recipe name fits, because they're going to disappear fast. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
very good. I modified a bit. I used pb chips and added a cup of quick cooking oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginamaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Lane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
These are excellent. I thought the flavor improved the next day. They are sweet but not too much. The marshmallows actually disappear into the dough so don't expect to see pieces of marshmallow in your brownie. The only change I made was to mix the flour, baking powder, and salt together in a separate bowl and then added this to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
This batter was thick like candy, I wasn't sure they would turn out, but it was quite delish. They did stick a little to the side of a non stick pan. I would make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
YUM, these are decadent! Made them for Valentine's Day for my boy's daycare and they turned out great. I didn't have butterscotch chips, so used milk chocolate chips and semi-sweet as called for and they were great. I would have like to have tried with peanut butter chips, but there's a peanut allergy at the daycare, so milk choc it was! I think any type of mixture I'm sure would be fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States