Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
for an annatto substitute try 1/4 tsp. paprika plus generous pinch of tumeric (equals 1 tsp annatto)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This is by no means dirty rice. I followed this as written and feel that there are tons of other recipes that rate much higher. It would have been easier to just boil the rice and add all the other stuff to it.. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
I have now made this recipe twice and it has been a hit both times. Could not find Anatto Powder so I just left it out. Husband and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
Great tasting rice dish. I loved the combination of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Oh my gosh, this was so good! The only changes I made was to use cubanelle peppers instead of green (too expensive this time of year), red kidney beans instead of black, and 1 tsp of ground chipotle chili pepper instead of the 2 tsp of annatto - it's what I had on hand. I served it as a side dish to the Cuban Pork Roast and Spicy Mango Salsa recipes also found on this site. Will definitely make again. Thank you, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
This is an easy and versatile recipe. For another meal idea layer guacamole, sour cream, cheddar, and (for your meat eating friends) grilled chicken,for one helluva burrito. This recipe is a new favorite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2001
I got this recipe because normally "dirty rice" is a cajun thing, so I made it with Cajun Chicken. It's more like spanish rice. However, it was a big hit! My hubby loved it!! Next time I make it, I'll do so with a spanish meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Native-Memphian
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
This was incredible. We ommitted the nuts and it was fabulous!!! There is just two of us so there were a lot of leftovers. Definitely put the fresh onions and squeeze the fresh lime juice on top... it just makes the dish.****UPDATE**** I have to say this has become one of our most favorite recipes.. we alter it only a little by adding shredded chicken. We just buy a pre-cooked rotiserie chicken and use the white meat.. fab!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Native-Memphian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
I'm afraid I have to differ! It was mush... and I followed the directions exactly. It was spicy, but there was no TASTE at all. I hate wet rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Sorry! But this is not "Dirty Rice"! I agree with CORKALAB. Add some shredded chicken and you have a nice casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States