Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This dish was amazing! The spice combination really gave the rice a wonderful, spicy (not hot) flavor. I will make this many more times. Thank you so much Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Awesome recipe! I omitted a few things that I didn't have lying around, but it's still fabulous. I thought it could always use a bit more, so I dropped a vegetable bullion cube in. This is really good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I feel it is a shame to call this recipe "Dirty Rice", which is already a well established recipe in south Louisiana and nothing at all like the one that you published. In fact I think that I would be ashamed to call this recipe "dirty rice". I am 68 and can remember this dish from back in the 40s, and I am sure it was around long before I was on the scene. Tsk, tsk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
I reduced the chili powder and omitted cilantro and opted out on annatto - can't find it anywhere. It was very good and healthy and filling, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
It was too heavy on the cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Native-Memphian
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
This was incredible. We ommitted the nuts and it was fabulous!!! There is just two of us so there were a lot of leftovers. Definitely put the fresh onions and squeeze the fresh lime juice on top... it just makes the dish.****UPDATE**** I have to say this has become one of our most favorite recipes.. we alter it only a little by adding shredded chicken. We just buy a pre-cooked rotiserie chicken and use the white meat.. fab!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Native-Memphian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This recipe is fantastic. I've made it with long cooking brown rice and if you add chicken breasts or pork on top of the rice for the last 20 minutes or so, you have a complete meal-in-a-pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Great meal. I added sausage for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
Excellent recipe. I added a jalapeno for a littel extra zip! It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
I have now made this recipe twice and it has been a hit both times. Could not find Anatto Powder so I just left it out. Husband and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States