Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
WOW!~ So good, I followed as close as I could having to sub. very little: red bell pepper instead of green, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper instead of pepper flakes and I used other reviewers tip of 1+1/2 tsp paprika and 1/2 tsp turmeric for the annatto powder. I also just used the whole cans of black beans and corn so not to have leftover in the fridge... Everything just enhanced this recipe!.. The crunch of the nuts was good and the twist of lime, red onion and cilanto all came together pefect! I didn't eat the sliced red onions though, just put it just for presentation. Thanks for a great recipe!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
throw all kinds of things in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Very flavorful - it's the lime that does the trick! I could see it being even better with broth in place of the water, but no complaints from me as written. (Mostly as written - I am a bit of a wimp when it comes to spices, so I cut the cumin and red pepper flakes in half, which seemed perfect to me.) Definitely not cajun, but almost exactly what I was looking for to jazz up my beans and rice for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
We improvised a little, but overall... Excellent recipe! It beats the stuff that you buy in a box at the store (no processed ingredients). Just remember to rinse your rice first (I didn't and it turned out a little gritty)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roselyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
for an annatto substitute try 1/4 tsp. paprika plus generous pinch of tumeric (equals 1 tsp annatto)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Now this was good stuff. I omitted the annatto powder (couldn't find it at the store) and the pine nuts (didn't want to buy an entire jar just for this recipe), and it still turned out great. Easy to make, lots of flavor, looked great. Thanks, jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This recipe was so good. My girlfriend and I made this as our first cooking experience as a couple. WE LOVED IT! The flavors are amazing! I followed the recipe exactly and it makes ALOT! BUT!! i think it was even better the next day after it sat in the fridge as left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by borofirefighter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Fabulous vegetarian rice dish. Ideal for a potluck because it tastes great at room temperature too. I'm making it for our next potluck of which there are many in the summertime. Thank you, thank you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This recipe makes a TON of rice but it is wonderful. I did change a few things. I used red onion for the saute' then topped at the end with sliced green onions. I think it needs more pine nuts as they get lost. Didn't have the annatto chile and it was fine without it. I liked a little more lime and cilantro in it. Also, instead of water for the rice, I used equal amounts of chicken broth for extra flavor. This will be fabulous wrapped in a tortilla for a veggie lunch, can't wait to have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I make this every year for a Fat Tuesday celebration at work. It is good hot, but I have also serve it cold at the pitch in (aka potluck.) Very popular dish. It is also good with shrimp and smoked sausage mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shoals, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States