Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I don't care what you name it, it's awesome. I used saffron instead of annatto, and some dried cilantro instead of fresh, as well as brown instead of white rice... but this is a wonderful recipe and needs NO improvement as far as I am concerned. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustDMarine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
very good! i served with catfish kabobs and every one loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
this turned out great! the only change I made was sub the cilantro for parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
My husband and I loved this recipe. I left out the pine nuts and annatto but otherwise followed the directions. I only cooked the rice for 20 minutes and it was perfect. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was amazing! Satisfied my picky vegetarian son and the rest of the family. We ate it wrapped in tortillas. I added some extra lime juice to balance the spiciness and added a dollop of sour cream to each wrap on top of the cilantro and red onions. A definite repeat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Sorry! But this is not "Dirty Rice"! I agree with CORKALAB. Add some shredded chicken and you have a nice casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was very delicious! Everyone at home liked it. However, it was a little on the soggy side - I would cut back on the amount of water to cook the rice. Already looking forward to eating the leftovers at lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I also don't agree with the four and five star ratings, sadly. I followed the recipe exactly and it was without any interesting flavors. I had to doctor it up quite a bit before serving it at a potluck. Not worth the time or the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Not great, not terrible.... This didn't float me or my fiance's boat (sorry!). This reminds me of a pre-pkg. Mex. rice mix I bought months ago (which my fiance & I didn't care for...). For all of the effort involved (i.e. chopping, sauteeing, toasting) & the cost incured (pinenuts aren't cheap!), the end result was not what I expected. I was lucky to find annatto powder (checked my specialty spice store 1st, who, to my surprise only sold annatto seeds; I then stumbled upon a sm. pkg. of the stuff at my local Italian mkt. for $.99!), and I think that was what gave this side dish the pkg. rice mix taste my fiance and I don't like. I also must say that jen's direct. are not accurate. First, the amt. of liquid MUST be inc! In retrospect, I thought cooking my rice for 20 min. instead of 25 would have done the trick (my rice was quite "mushy"), but I still had a few "stray" crunchy grains, even after cooking for the full 25 min. I ended up add. ~1/4 c. chx. broth which seemed to help. Also, jen's direct. suggest using salt 2X, but only 1 measurement is incl. in the ingred. list. Same for the annatto powder. The 1st measurement (i.e. 2 t) is accounted for, but the other is not (what do you do w/ the remainng 2 t??? - I nixed it alltogether). Finally, I could barely taste the nuts, corn or beans (defeats the purpose of add. them...) & the "yield" is for WAAY more than 4 ppl. (my gosh!!!). Perhaps add. the garnishes would have made this better??? Oh well! Thx. anyways, jen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Loved this! I just used canned corn (drained and pan-roasted),canned black beans (drained) along with one pkg. spicy link sausage,cooked,crumbled,and one lb. smoked sausage,sliced and browned, and took this to our church pot-luck. Everyone was asking for the recipe! My kids just wanted to put it in a tortilla and go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States