Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was an amazing meal with a side of garlic flatbread. Instead of water I used vegetable broth and I didn't have any pine nuts, but the spice blend was delicious and everything was cooked perfectly. Will be making this a staple meal at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Did not like it. Spice but no real flavor. Daughter thought it was too hot, hubby said there no other flavor there and it was a weird cross between spanish and Cajan but neither worked. Oh well! I tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Yummy! I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand and it still turned out amazing! I didn't have annatto or achiote powder in my pantry (actually never heard of prior to this. I ended up using some leftover tomato/bean and sausage casserole to make up for my lack of tomatoes and green pepper. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
seemed gritty from all the spice. was better after adding smoked sausage tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Fantastic. I snuck red peppers and cajun-seasoned ground pork in there and used a little white wine during the simmering process. I also made a bit more rice than the recipe calls for because my family likes its rice. The spices were heavenly. The pork gave extra seasoning to make up for the extra rice, and the whole thing was a fantastic blend of flavors. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This turned out really good! My husband & I loved it. Too spicy for kids, though, even without the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Yummy. I used saffron with the rice and cooked the veggies seperately and mixed at the end. I had never heard of dirty rice but this recipe had my kids cleaning their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was outstanding! Not sure what the one reviewer tasted when they said it had no outstanding flavor. I almost didn't try it because of that, boy am I glad I did! It has great flavor and heats up well for leftovers! Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was my first experience with dirty rice and i thought it was great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I always cook things my own way and use the recipe as a guide. I used instant brown rice this time. Next I make this I'm going to make a taco salad shell to serve it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States