Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is a quick, easy, well-balanced meal with good flavor. Squeezing lime juice on top definitely adds that little extra to the dish. If you use the rice:water ratio and timing in this recipe, your rice may not turn out right, so be sure to follow the directions for the specific type of rice you will be using. For example, mine is 1 cup rice to 2 cups water for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
To avoid mushy rice, after sautéeing the veggies and rice I add 2 2/3 cup of water or chicken broth & bring to a boil before covering and lowering the heat to simmer. DO NOT LIFT THE LID FOR 20 MINUTES OR STIR. Check the rice after 20 mins. If still wet leave the lid off but DO NOT STIR. Once the rice is dry incorporate the cooked and warmed corn & beans, along with the chopped tomatoes into the rice by fluffing the rice with 2 forks. Turn off the heat, replace the lid and let the rice stand for 3-5 minutes. Serve as the recipe suggests with the garnishes. Now, enjoy your Latin Dirty Rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Very good, family enjoyed it and I will make again. Corkalab the only thing you should be ashamed of is being so sanctimonious, no matter what your age! Tsk, tsk, tsk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I'm afraid I have to agree the opinion of being bland. A pretty dish with much potential but fell way short of the yummy meter. Family ate it but not a keeper....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Very good! Only thing I did differently was to put a bit of grated monterey jack on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Thanks for sharing recipe. It is delicious. I kept it simple to beans and rice. added turmeric and paprika and coriander and a pinch of oregano with the rest of the spices. Turned out tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leth Bridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
So yummy! I don't know if this is traditional "Dirty Rice" but everyone I've made it for loves it. I like to add sausage or shrimp to make this a full meal and sometimes I finish it off in the oven like a paella. This is a keeper for sure. Thanks Jen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn DiMarco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Wow! This is the best beans and rice recipe I have found on this site so far! What an amazing combination of flavors! This was a big hit with my family and I. This is going into my recipe box for sure. I will definately be using it as a regular! A big thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I thought this was good,. What I like about this recipe is that it gave me some good ideas as a spring board for my own creativity. Thanks, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen Stachiotti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was an amazing meal with a side of garlic flatbread. Instead of water I used vegetable broth and I didn't have any pine nuts, but the spice blend was delicious and everything was cooked perfectly. Will be making this a staple meal at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States