Dirt Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
We had this for dessert tonight; it was a hit! Everyone loved it, who wouldn't?! This was a very easy recipe to follow, and we used crushed up Oreo cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susieq624

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This is the first recipe that I have come back to the computer to send a review. This is a fabulous recipe! BECAUSE: #1) if you have kids, you more that likely have the ingredients in your pantry. #2) its the quickest recipe to put together! and last but not least #3) it tastes FABULOUS! I did not change any of the ingredients, however I would try to incorporate the cream cheese with the milk first and then add the pudding powder. This way you are sure to get the cream cheese smooth and keep a thick pudding without lumps of cream cheese! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Love it! Mine didn't look anything like the picture though. Haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melaniediane
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was a very simple recipe and it can be tailored to any holiday or occasion. I made mine as a Graveyard Cake for a Halloween Luncheon at work. The suggested use of a blender to crush the cookies didn't work to well for me, and I have a nicer model. Next time I would probably go with crushing them in a bag or food processor. Everyone thought it was cute and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I made this last Halloween to bring to work. I used Milano cookies as tombstones. The pudding mixture was a bit lumpy but smoothed itself out by the time it was ready to eat. Everyone loved it and a few wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This is a wonderful dessert! My mother used to make a recipe like this for birthdays when I was a kid. I didn't use the butter or cream cheese, it makes it really rich. I also subsituted the whipped topping with 8oz of heavy whipping cream, whipped. There is more than plenty of sugar with the cookies and the chocolate pudding and I think you'll find it is just right with these alterations. However when you take the rich part out you may want to eat more. Everyone should try this dirt cake it is soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
We rather enjoyed this recipe, although we made the mistake of doubling it because it sounded like the original recipe wouldn't make that much. We were wrong. We ended up with a HUGE bowl that took us nearly a week to eat. Not that I'm complaining. It's very tasty, just pay attention to the quantities. If you don't happen to have a handful of teenager always hanging around like I do, you might end up with more than you can eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I think dirt cake is supposed to have ice cream as the filling not pudding...the recipe according to this website did not turn out very well at all...too sweet and too much vanilla. It would be much better with an ice cream filling or if you freeze this recipe. I was really dissappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Mix in all in a big bowl and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
My sister shared this recipe years ago and I've been making it ever since. We both prefer French Vanilla Pudding. To make it go further we make it with 3 boxes of pudding, 5 C milk and a 12 oz. tub of Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States