Dirt Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I agree the proportions for this are off....so be warned......there is a better recipe for this.....but, of course, the kids love this.....can also be made with vanilla wafers and vanilla pudding and called "sand".......This has potential, but the proportions need to be adjusted........so, I would recommend another recipe for this.......I believe the correct recipe is posted on allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Wrong proportions listed with recipe. I had to throw the whole thing out. Way, way too much milk. I had to make this for a work event the next morning. I had to go out in the middle of the night and buy all the ingredients again (this time following a different recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
This recipe is so easy and quick!! I gathered many recipes for Dirt Cake before choosing this one. The flavors blend together so well and it took me about 15 minutes to put it together. I recommend putting the cookies in a baggie, breaking up with a rolling pin or meat mallot, and then put into food processor to crush to the consistency of dirt - you end up with less "chunks" that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I got this recipe years ago from my cousin and made it when the kids were little and it is alot of fun. The talk of the party. I don't know why some had trouble with it setting up. Her recipe even had a bit more milk in it but her preparation of ingredients are different and does not include van. extract. Her version is:A large bag of oreo's finely crushed. In a small bowl mix 1-8oz.softened cream cheese, 1/2 stick marg. and 1 cup confectioners sugar. Set aside. In a large bowl mix 2 pkg. instant vanilla pudding,and 3 1/2 cups cold milk. Beat until thick, add 12oz. coolwhip and mix. Add cream cheese mixture and beat together. I have never had problems with it.Layer the same as this one. I served in a large plastic flower pot with no hole in the bottom and put some plastic artificial flowers on top. It is so cute with the worms poking through. It is very rich and a real conversation piece. Young and old enjoy this! Thanks Kym!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Everyone loves this recipe. I do make a few alterations. I omit the butter completly and use vanilla pudding instead of chocolate. I usually use one whole pkg of oreos crushed mixed in with all the other ingredients. Then coarsly break up another half pkg to sprinkle in and on top. I put in (clean) sand buckets with some gummi worms and fake flowers. Great for potlucks. I double the recipe for potlucks and I have never had any leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This is a great fun dessert. It may not be the greatest culinary delight of your life, but it will earn you giggles from everyone. Make the night before so it is good and cold. I put the worms in before sprinkling the crumbs on top so it looked more like they were burrowing. I made this to delight the kids - the fact that it tastes great is an added bonus!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This recipe is a pretty simple fix. Everyone keeps complaining about the measurements being wrong, but no one really offers a solution. Instead of 3 cups of milk, I only used 1.5. You could probably safely use 2 cups though. My mixture was pretty thick, but we liked it that way. Also I only folded about 4 ounces of whipped cream into the mixture. I wanted the flavor to be rich. It turned out good, thick, and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I changed the serving size to 30 and made individual layered cups (5 oz.) for my daughter to share with her class (and several teachers) for her birthday. I was able to get 28 (5 oz.) cups made... Thanks! She is SO excited to share with her class! The samplings by she and her brother were a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
I made this into a graveyard cake for a halloween party and it was a big hit. I have to say though that there is too much pudding mixture in this recipe and you can probably use only 8 oz of cool whip and two boxes of pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Made this cake 2 days ago and it still hasn't set. It seemed like alot of milk was added, so maybe that was the problem. Any one know what went wrong? Anyway, it tasted alright, but unless someone has a fix for the recipe, I probably won't make this one again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States