Dirt Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
The kids loved this one! Especially with the gummy worms. We didn't use the flower pots but we did use the little plastic shovel and served it in some small pails I found at a party supply shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
I made this for my sisters birthday, everyone loved it. Kids and adults alike, I would definitely recommend this for anyone who is looking for something different and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALILSWEETY
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
This dessert was very rich, but very good. You only need a small amount to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Cotati, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
I made this for my sons birthday party at the bowling alley. I put it in new, small, individual plant pots so no serving was necessary. Just had to take spoons and the kids took the pots home. Of course I included gummy worms 1/2 sticking out of each pot. Some of the girls were too grossed out to eat it -- Cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
Found this recipe to be a little too sweet. The birthday party I served it at turned off some of the kids. They didn't think it looked too appetizing with the "worms" in it. We ate about half of the recipe, then it just sat in the fridge for a few weeks until I had to toss it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
I made this into a graveyard cake for a halloween party and it was a big hit. I have to say though that there is too much pudding mixture in this recipe and you can probably use only 8 oz of cool whip and two boxes of pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Very rich, easy-to-make dessert. I made it for our Halloween Chili Cook-off at work and won the prize for best dessert. Everyone loved finding the gummi worms in the pudding and I enjoyed trying to place them as if they were poking up from the ground. I like this recipe because there is more pudding and just enough "dirt".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Wow! I made this for my son's cub scout event where we auctioned off cakes. It was a hit and made $45, and all the kids lined up for some. Great for boys. Awesome presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Exceptional! I made a triple batch of this recipe for a big party and served it in a big children's plastic bucket with little plastic hand shovels. It was a huge hit! To reduce the calories a little, I used light margarine (only 50 cal/Tbsp), neufchatel cheese instead of cream cheese, light whipped topping, and fat-free milk. Everyone has been asking me for the recipe. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
It was very very good! I made it for my sons birthday party. We had a construction theme so I served it in the back of one of his dump trucks and served it with a big shovel. He loved 'playing' in the dirt and did get some in his mouth. The only thing I found wrong with the recipe is that I had way too much pudding left over. This recipe could easliy be cut in half. All in all I give it a BIG thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wishek, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Creston, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States