Dirt Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I got this recipe years ago from my cousin and made it when the kids were little and it is alot of fun. The talk of the party. I don't know why some had trouble with it setting up. Her recipe even had a bit more milk in it but her preparation of ingredients are different and does not include van. extract. Her version is:A large bag of oreo's finely crushed. In a small bowl mix 1-8oz.softened cream cheese, 1/2 stick marg. and 1 cup confectioners sugar. Set aside. In a large bowl mix 2 pkg. instant vanilla pudding,and 3 1/2 cups cold milk. Beat until thick, add 12oz. coolwhip and mix. Add cream cheese mixture and beat together. I have never had problems with it.Layer the same as this one. I served in a large plastic flower pot with no hole in the bottom and put some plastic artificial flowers on top. It is so cute with the worms poking through. It is very rich and a real conversation piece. Young and old enjoy this! Thanks Kym!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I agree the proportions for this are off....so be warned......there is a better recipe for this.....but, of course, the kids love this.....can also be made with vanilla wafers and vanilla pudding and called "sand".......This has potential, but the proportions need to be adjusted........so, I would recommend another recipe for this.......I believe the correct recipe is posted on allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Wrong proportions listed with recipe. I had to throw the whole thing out. Way, way too much milk. I had to make this for a work event the next morning. I had to go out in the middle of the night and buy all the ingredients again (this time following a different recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Made this cake 2 days ago and it still hasn't set. It seemed like alot of milk was added, so maybe that was the problem. Any one know what went wrong? Anyway, it tasted alright, but unless someone has a fix for the recipe, I probably won't make this one again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
I love that you use chocolate pudding rather than vanilla with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
I cut the recipe in half and it was plenty.... perfect amount to fit a large sand pail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
Very very good. I made it for my friend who used to get these from the grocery store, she said they don't even compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
The recipe was really yummy and a wonderful surprise for my 8 year old stepson. I may cut the recipe in half next time though since it makes so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
This recipe is so easy and quick!! I gathered many recipes for Dirt Cake before choosing this one. The flavors blend together so well and it took me about 15 minutes to put it together. I recommend putting the cookies in a baggie, breaking up with a rolling pin or meat mallot, and then put into food processor to crush to the consistency of dirt - you end up with less "chunks" that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
It was very very good! I made it for my sons birthday party. We had a construction theme so I served it in the back of one of his dump trucks and served it with a big shovel. He loved 'playing' in the dirt and did get some in his mouth. The only thing I found wrong with the recipe is that I had way too much pudding left over. This recipe could easliy be cut in half. All in all I give it a BIG thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wishek, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Creston, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States