Dirt Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I made this last weekend for my son and all his friends and they loved it. Best Dirt Cake recipe I have come across. I will be making again many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Very good! My son and I made our "dirt cake" for Earth Day! I followed recipe just as is and it was great. The milk amount was just fine you just need to add slowly. I only added about a 1/2 cup at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This was really good. I made this for my Daisy Girl Scouts to celebrate Earth Day. (We also drank bug juice). I fed them a whole big story on how I dug the dirt up special for them that morning. After that I gave each girl her own cup of dirt to their surprised looks. However, I disagree with another reviewer who said that it is best to serve in a clear glass bowl. It is really only the cookie crumbs on top that look like dirt. Seeing through the clear cups the girls quickly realized it was pudding. Where as if it was in a flower pot or even a solid cup or bowl one only sees the dirt cookie crumbs with worms on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I have a step son who doesn't care for regular cake. I made this for him for his birthday and ALL of the kids went NUTS over it! The cream cheese gives it that decadent taste...yummy!! I did crush the cookies in a big ziploc bag first, then food processor. Made them nice and fine. Some kids really thought it was dirt on top! The only thing I may do different is to put the gummy worms on just before serving. They got a little hard from being refridgerated. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is a great recipe. We have made it many times, and if you want to you can change it according to your tastes by using different flavors of pudding, and different flavors of cookies. We always use light cool whip and lite cream cheese and you can't tell one bit of difference. Also, we skip the powdered sugar. It just doesn't need it. A deep glass bowl looks the best to make it in, but a glass 9 X 13 pan is good too. The trouble with using a flowerpot is that you can't see through it which is really a big part of the appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
this recipe is great! but what would be also wonderful is if you made like a candy land, just like the game candy land! i think that the kids would love you after that. like when i was younger, when i was about 10, we went to a friend house for like this big kids party, and it was a whole lot of kids! and a lady brought one of thoses and after i ate it i just loved her! and it was not only because it tasted really good but mostly because it looked so creative and nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nadhiyrah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was a huge hit with the after school kids I work with. We were releasing earthworms into the garden we planted today and I thought this would be a fun tie-in. They actually thought it was real dirt on top! Beware, though. It is very messy. Next time I will use a big serving spoon rather than a spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
made it in pudding cups (this recipe or other version), really yummy treat, made with oetker's pudding mix, and whipping cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This came out perfect. a whole bucket gone before you know it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdove

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
We made this recipe in Family and Consumer science at school. We cut the recipe in half though, so our proportions were fine. You do need less milk for this recipe, because you need the pudding thicker. This was very tasty, although after four bites it was so rich it was hard to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States