Dirt Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I just made this today for a Halloween party. I used the big packs of Jello after reading that it may have too much milk and like it a little more stiff...it was GREAT! I have chocolate lovers in my family so the chocolate Jello was wonderful... and it looks like the mud pie I used to make as a child. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Lost me at the Cool Whip. Up til that point it was awesome. I have eaten this many times and it has never been like this. I am pretty sure that everyone here in WI omits the folding of nasty Cool Whip. Should have known better and stopped when it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefbecs

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Good as always. Kids LOVE it. I always leave out the butter and never notice anything lacking. I have left out the confectioners sugar by accident, and don't think that mattered, either. The pudding, cream cheese, cool whip are the essence of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
IT is very tasty but I wouldn't recommend using frosting or many gummy worms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I have loved this dessert since I was a kid! I gave this recipe 4 stars because I thought it was good, but could use a couple changes. I omitted the butter altogether. It doesn't need it. And I used vanilla pudding (because that's how I've always had it and like it better that way - but that's personal preference). I only used 2 cups of milk. It was the perfect consistency. I also like a little bit of chunks in my oreo cookies. So for half of the oreos I crushed them in a bag and used those for the middle layer of cookies. I crushed the rest until they were very fine and put them on top. My daughter asks me every morning what is for dinner and I will tease her that we are having dirt and worms. So I made this for her for the first time for her 4th birthday. She thought it was pretty funny! It's always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Home Town: Repulse Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I made this recipe for work, and my review is mixed. I have made this before and the mud part seemed more whipped. I agree, there is too much milk. I thought this as I was pouring it in, and it took a lot of elbow grease and whipping to get this to a decent consistency. Also, this was very sweet. I only used 8 oz of cool whip and that was fine. Overall, people loved the presentation and said it tasted good, but I thought it looked a little too muddy and was very sweet. All and all there is room for improvement but it served it's purpose-work baby shower/pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jinxie0408

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I don't understand why people are saying that the measurements are off...I had absolutely no problem with it. If you beat the pudding mixture for a couple of minutes like you would any instant pudding, this will set up perfectly. In fact, mine was a bit on the thick side! Don't change anything. My kids, nephew, and neighbor ADORED this cake! (I hid the worms under the top layer of dirt so that they would be a surprise.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I used to love dirt cake my aunt would make when we were little but this recipe just didn't taste as good as the other dirt cakes i've had in the past. Will continue to look for a different dirt cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Awesome recipe. I even added chocolate chips and sat out different toppings whenever I served this to a group of people and they absolutely loved it! A grandmother even told me that she wanted the recipe because she wanted to make it for her friends at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
good for dirt. Mark loved it, even with the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States