Dirt Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Simple to make and delicious! If your pudding mix turned out too watery you probably didn't use the instant pudding mix. If you accidentally bought the "cook and serve" pudding (like I did) just throw the pudding mixture in a pot and cook for a few minutes until a thicker consistency, then cool and add the cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I've always liked this recipe; it's a big hit with the kids, too. I didn't have any trouble at all with the measurements -- they're pretty much the same for every "dirt" recipe I've seen. In fact, I've seen other recipes that call for 3 1/2 cups of milk, so this one should yield the less runny alternative. Perhaps the problem is that whomever had trouble with it being too runny didn't mix long enough after the pudding and milk were added. It said on the pudding box to mix for two minutes, so after I added the pudding and milk, that's what I did. The consistency was fine after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Very yummy recipe! My son requested it for his birthday after our neighbor's son had a dirt cake. The only thing I changed was that I did individual cups for each of the children to reduce the mess of scooping it out for each child and made sure everyone got an even number of gummy worms. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
i used 16 oz oreos (but had leftover crumbs). used 8 oz cool whip. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Great recipe, I made it for the 4th of july. I know I few people had trouble with the recipe saying that it called for too much milk. Make sure that you buy the instant pudding mix, I almost made that mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This recipe is a pretty simple fix. Everyone keeps complaining about the measurements being wrong, but no one really offers a solution. Instead of 3 cups of milk, I only used 1.5. You could probably safely use 2 cups though. My mixture was pretty thick, but we liked it that way. Also I only folded about 4 ounces of whipped cream into the mixture. I wanted the flavor to be rich. It turned out good, thick, and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
my kid s love this stuff they love picking out the gummy worms i make it for them every easter but last year i tried something new instead of using gummy worms i used cute little candy easter eggs since it was easter kids loved it you can use dirt cake for practicly any holiday. a its so funn an easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Perfect, but took time to put together. It was great for my daughter's ladybug party! A nice alternative to real cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great! We put white chocolate skeleton pieces on top for a great party treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrarea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
What a fun idea! This "cake" of sorts is very rich, but very good. I made this for my mother's 50th birthday party (see pic). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States