Dirt Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
The directions for this recipe are wrong. If you follow these directions you will end up with a totally milky mixture and will not be able to actually make the dirt. You need to save the whipped cream for last and fold it in because that is what makes the pudding layer of the dirt thick enough to stay between the layers of oreos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Yummy! People who thought there was too much milk forgot to let the pudding set up (not mentioned in the directions). It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Bednarowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Awesome recipe! The one thing that seems to be giving people problems is that everything should be combined in stages. Mix together cream cheese and butter; then add-in powdered sugar, set aside. Then combine pudding and milk; be sure to beat thoroughly. I started out with 3 cups milk, but actually increased it to 3-1/2 c. milk. Once pudding has thickened, add cool whip. Lastly, beat in cream cheese mixture. Cover and refrigerate overnight. Assemble the next day. I made dirt cakes in plastic cups for my daughter's class and they were a HUGE hit. The taste is awesome and this is coming from someone who tends to prefer food made from scratch. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I had no problem with this recipe and its proportions. Everyone at work loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I followed the directions exactly, but I accidentally bought "cook and serve" rather than instant pudding which I didn't realize until I basically had chocolate soup. I have made this recipe many times before and couldn't figure out what the heck went wrong. Thankfully I read the reviews and found someone else who had the same problem. I threw the whole mixture in a pot on medium heat and cooked it until it just started to boil, which I think was even a little long, because it turned into real (thick) pudding! I waited for it to cool and then added the cool whip and it was perfect! Hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Made this several times. 4 stars only because 1 cup conf sugar is waaaay to much. 1/2 would be much better. Only change I made was I used fresh whipped cream opposed to cool whip ( 1 1/2 heavy cream, 1/4 conf sugar and squirt vanilla whipped for 4 minutes). And a bit more milk then called for. Pudding was too thick for my preference. Otherwise fun and awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Too easy. I made this and served it in the back of a new dump truck for my son's truck themed birthday party. It was a hit with the kids and adults too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I also added heath bar chunks, which was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Good. I used vanilla pudding and french vanilla whipped cream. I lost my original recipe for Dirt, but this one tasted just fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This recipe was a big hit. I would suggest that you combine the butter and cream cheese before adding the sugar and vanilla. Also mix the pudding and milk together then add to the cream cheese mixture. This helps everything blend together perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States