Dip For The Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Always get comments as it is beautiful and tasty. Makes a lot, consider making a half batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Excellent, only problem, I did not read the recipe through before making and did not divide the ingredients so they were not in two layers of each ingredient as the recipe calls for. Even so was loved by all who tried it but I know it would have been better if made as intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Factoryville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I don't understand what went wrong with this. I triple checked the recipe and I don't think I made a mistake. It looked beautiful, and the ingredients seem like they would work so well together. No one ate it. I wasn't that thrilled with it either. I used almonds instead of pine nuts (cost). Maybe it was the feta, it was a very strong feta and I normally love feta, but I don't think I liked it in this. Not sure if that is the problem though. I molded it in a standard loaf pan and that fit the recipe perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Delicious! But not on the first day. I made this a few hours before a party and the flavours had not melded. Luckily we had tons of food so I left it in the fridge. The next day it was better, but today--three days later--it's absolutely delicious. The flavours have blended together, and the initial sharpness of the alcohol and garlic are milder, but still add depth to the flavour. Here are my mods: used vodka instead of vermouth, used one 160g pack each of pre-made Olivieri Sundried Tomato Pesto and Olivieri Basil Pesto, both strained prior to layering. When prepping, I thought the non-cheese layers would be too thin, but both pesto and sundried tomatoes are strong flavours, so they all balance together. I layered it in a 1.75Qt/1.66L Pyrex with non-stick spray, and lined with saran wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Gorgeous presentation and super yummy. This was a huge hit @ our Christmas Party and so festive. It makes a large amount. 20 guests devoured it and we had quite a bit left over. Would try and halve the recipe next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made this dip for a holiday party and it was a huge hit! Everyone wanted the recipe. I used light cream cheese, light feta and only 1 stick of butter (it calls for 2 but completely unnecessary). I can't imagine that 2nd stick of butter making it taste any better. It was so flavorful! The extra fat and calories was not at all missed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I really love this dip, and want to make it for a Christmas lunch, but need to substitute the vermouth for an alcohol-free item - does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Harriman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Love, love, LOVE!! I could eat this all day! Some people were a little scared to try it, but once they did they couldnt get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linnygeb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Even with the expensive items this one calls for it is SO SO SO worth it. It has the best taste and looks awesome. For a fancy holiday get together this is the go to dip. I use water crackers like it calls for and I dont think I have ever used the capers. I use lots of pine nuts and extra garlic and sundried tomatoes. I usually halve it also or make two because it does make a large portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was very good! I substituted finely diced onion and white wine which was what I had on hand. It came out a little crumbly but still looked pretty and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States