Dip For The Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I love this and it's always a hit. I cut the butter in half and use 8 oz block of feta. I blanche the garlic or it has too much bite. Be sure to drain the pesto and sun dried tomatoes. Pine nuts are expensive so I've never used but I'm sure they're nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was awesome! Brought it to a family gathering and everyone loved it. I didn't add the vermouth - just didn't have any on hand. I agree with some of the other comments - this has very bold flavor and next time I'll serve it with a nice crusty bread instead of crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I generally have a strict rule against taking pictures of my food, but this dish was so BEAUTIFUL and delicious that I couldn't help myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I really liked this as a spread. It was a nice combo of salty and creamy. I made too much and had lots left over so I threw it in a pan, melted it, added a little cream and a ladle full of pasta cooking water, and bam- the MOST DELICIOUS sauce for pasta. I highly recommend holding half back to make an easy pasta sauce later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was fantastic. I needed a quick, throw together appetizer and this was it. As suggested, I cut the cheese portion in half. I put the sun dried tomatoes in the food process to chop a bit. I also added garlic to the cheese portion. I didn't have a mold so I used a small round bowl, lined it with plastic wrap, and threw it in the freezer for about 45 minutes (I was in a hurry). Unwrapped and put on a round plate with baguette slices... A beautiful presentation which looked like I had spent hours. Definitely a "do again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by visum4us

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly and it was outstanding. That being said, I do have a few comments about what I would do differently the next time I make it, and there WILL be a next time. As others stated, this does make a huge amount. I too split it in half so I could take it to two functions. While there is certainly enough of the cheese/butter mixture to do this, I found that I used the entire amount of sundried tomatoes, pine nuts and pesto on one portion. So I doubled the amount of those items to split the recipe in half. Also, if you are thinking it's going to look like the featured photo, it isn't. (It still makes a nice presentation, however.) Firstly, sundried tomatoes are not bright red. Secondly, there is no way I was able to "spread the pesto over the pine nuts without it all getting mixed up. Again, did not affect the taste at all. Feta cheese is salty on it's own, so make sure you do use the unsalted butter. I drained my pesto of some of the oil, and used dried tomatoes (not the ones packed in oil) so that it wasn't so oily per the recommendation of other commenters. I used a 6" round cake pan lined with plastic wrap and it was a great size and came out of the pan beautifully. Let this come to room temp before serving or it will crumble instead of spread. It went over very well at both funtions I took it to, and I came home with empty plates! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissPegs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Palestine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Just came from my daughters house....I loved this dip! She made it in 4 separate containers so she could take take it to the various family gatherings, and sent a container home with me! I liked the saltiness and all the flavors that come forth on this dip. It tastes a bit like an Italian type dish, with a twist. First bite, I wasn't sure about it, but each bite after that, was addictive. Really, really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Have made this for a couple of occasions, and it's always a HUGE hit. For the holidays, I made it up in taco baker (to make soft tacos into bowls) so it ended up with that lovely star shape. Outstanding look for the holiday ... very much in keeping with the festive season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Presents beautifully, but the cream cheese portion was FAR too buttery - if I make it again I would probably skip the butter entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
The best dip ever. Full of flavor so keep the crackers or bread simple. Feel guilty eating it, but can't seem to stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States