Dip For The Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is absolutely delicious and so tasty and light to eat. Definitely use toasted baguettes for the cracker as you don't want to take away from the flavor of the dip. It looks very impressive and can be made a head of time. I did add black olivesand garlic and made it in two small containers as it was very hot out this weekend and I didn't want it to sit out too long in extremely warm weather. It was a hit at the party, will definitely make again and again as it is so pretty on the table! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
So simple & yet it looks so sophisticated. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this last night for a friend's father's 80th birthday party. It was wonderful. In fact, one guest said he loved it so much he was ready to "rub it all over his body". I guess he liked it! I had a small jar of chopped black olives that I didn't know what to do with, so I sprinkled that as my first step. It added another layer of color and texture but certainly wasn't necessary to the flavor or visual appeal. I will be making this many, many more times in the future. It was the first time that something I made became the talk of the party! Thank you for sharing this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
beautiful and delicious. Impressive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWUER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This dip is good, but it's really, really rich. It also makes quite a bit so if you're not serving a small army I would suggest scaling down. That being said it's really good! I used almonds instead of pine nuts since they were already in the pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Pine nuts are $50 per pound and I can't afford them. I decided to just make the base of this dip and add fresh thyme. It's heavenly on toast, crackers and on sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was amazing and gone within a few hours. Delicious! I found my new appetizer to take to friends' houses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Hartrum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Excellent! I am eating it as I write (and my husband is wrapping presents in the garage!) I would do three things differently next time. 1) Pulverize the sun-dried tomotoes in the food processor into smaller pieces. 2) Drain and mop up as much oil from both the pesto and sun-dried tomatoes as possible. 3) Split it in two. You could easily make this is two smaller molds and freeze one for later. It is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
SO GOOD! I halved the recipe as it makes a very large serving. Used extra moist sun dried tomatoes without oil and ground them up in the food processor. As per other suggestions, drained oil off of pesto as much as possible and once the dip was set, I used papertowel to get some of that additional oil off. Served on a baguette and it got rave reviews from everyone. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This makes a fabulous presentation! I pressed the oil from the sun dried tomatoes and the pesto, and it held together well, even after coming to room temperature on the buffet table. Lots of folks commented on the presentation and the flavors, too! I served it with simple water crackers so the spread would be the star. Thanks for the idea--very creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States