Dip For The Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
beautiful and delicious. Impressive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWUER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This dip is good, but it's really, really rich. It also makes quite a bit so if you're not serving a small army I would suggest scaling down. That being said it's really good! I used almonds instead of pine nuts since they were already in the pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Pine nuts are $50 per pound and I can't afford them. I decided to just make the base of this dip and add fresh thyme. It's heavenly on toast, crackers and on sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was amazing and gone within a few hours. Delicious! I found my new appetizer to take to friends' houses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Hartrum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Excellent! I am eating it as I write (and my husband is wrapping presents in the garage!) I would do three things differently next time. 1) Pulverize the sun-dried tomotoes in the food processor into smaller pieces. 2) Drain and mop up as much oil from both the pesto and sun-dried tomatoes as possible. 3) Split it in two. You could easily make this is two smaller molds and freeze one for later. It is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
SO GOOD! I halved the recipe as it makes a very large serving. Used extra moist sun dried tomatoes without oil and ground them up in the food processor. As per other suggestions, drained oil off of pesto as much as possible and once the dip was set, I used papertowel to get some of that additional oil off. Served on a baguette and it got rave reviews from everyone. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This makes a fabulous presentation! I pressed the oil from the sun dried tomatoes and the pesto, and it held together well, even after coming to room temperature on the buffet table. Lots of folks commented on the presentation and the flavors, too! I served it with simple water crackers so the spread would be the star. Thanks for the idea--very creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I served this at a Thanksgiving get-together at our home, and it was much enjoyed. My daughter asked for the recipe. I used almonds instead of pine nuts, which I thought worked well. I really don't like pine nuts much. But the almonds were crunchy and the flavor blended well. It does make quite a large amount, and even with 10 people, much was left over. Sent it home with one of the guests who was happy to have it. The appearance was beautiful, and it was quite easy to do. I put fresh basil leaves around the base of the dip on a raised platter, placed that on another plate, and then arranged baguette slices underneath on the lower plate. Will keep this recipe for a repeat performance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was fantastic! I used Vodka instead of Vermouth and it turned out great - I got rave reviews. I made the entire batch for a party of about 20, it turned out to be too much. Half would've been perfect. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
makes way too much but went over incredibly well with my guests...will make half the amount next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States