Dinette Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This is a great starter cake, I have made it for years. The boston cream pie variation is the best. But try filling it with a clear lemon filling and drizzle with a lemon glaze. Great, easy, and your fillings and frostings are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
My guests raved over this retro 1950's style cake. I did make a few adjustments however as follows: I used baking soda and cream of tartar instead of baking powder, I used baker's sugar, sea salt, butter instead of shortening and I upped the 100% real vanilla extract 2 Tablespoons as well as adding 2 Tablespoons of dried lemon zest and I used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk. My cake was perfect topped with the chocolate sour cream frosting I found elsewhere on this site and fresh raspberries to decorate the top. I was the best dessert I have made in ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was not good at all:-( tasted like cardboard and was very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I use this recipe when I want to make Boston Cream Pie, or have short notice dinner guest. Can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
On taste alone it was Delicious! But it was very crumbly very hard to eat. For me its not worth trying again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This turned out awful for me. The flavor was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
The results produce a very heavy cake, not much flavor and a very strange texture. I do alot of baking. This is just not a good recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is a five star. This Dinette cake recipe was in my old Betty Crocker paperback. But here's the wonderful twist. In a 13x9 baking pan put a stick of real butter and set it in the oven to melt while the oven is warming up to 350. Meanwhile mix all the ingredients in a bowl. (I just put everything in a bowl and mix with a whisk.) When the butter is melted add 1 cup of packed brown sugar, spread evenly over the butter. Sprinkle with a good cinnamon and then *Here's the twist* open a large (29 ozs) can of sliced peaches plus 1 small can (15 ozs) in heavy syrup and pour over the butter, brown sugar, cinnamon. Sprinkle with a little extra cinnamon and bake for about 35 minutes until a tooth pick comes out clean. The "peach cobbler" will be moist and syrupy which with a good vanilla ice cream is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I've been using this recipe as a base for pineapple upside down cake for years. It's not too sweet, perfectly moist and just makes the upside down cake as a whole perfect. love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This is a small, versatile vanilla cake made with ingredients that are always on hand. Our family is small and we don't really need a big cake so it's perfect for us. I've used for cupcakes and strawberry shortcake, both with great results. While it is very simple, the flavor and texture are distinctly homemade--so much better than a mix, yet just as easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAMOM247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States