Dinette Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was not good at all:-( tasted like cardboard and was very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I use this recipe when I want to make Boston Cream Pie, or have short notice dinner guest. Can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
On taste alone it was Delicious! But it was very crumbly very hard to eat. For me its not worth trying again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This turned out awful for me. The flavor was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
The results produce a very heavy cake, not much flavor and a very strange texture. I do alot of baking. This is just not a good recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is a five star. This Dinette cake recipe was in my old Betty Crocker paperback. But here's the wonderful twist. In a 13x9 baking pan put a stick of real butter and set it in the oven to melt while the oven is warming up to 350. Meanwhile mix all the ingredients in a bowl. (I just put everything in a bowl and mix with a whisk.) When the butter is melted add 1 cup of packed brown sugar, spread evenly over the butter. Sprinkle with a good cinnamon and then *Here's the twist* open a large (29 ozs) can of sliced peaches plus 1 small can (15 ozs) in heavy syrup and pour over the butter, brown sugar, cinnamon. Sprinkle with a little extra cinnamon and bake for about 35 minutes until a tooth pick comes out clean. The "peach cobbler" will be moist and syrupy which with a good vanilla ice cream is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I've been using this recipe as a base for pineapple upside down cake for years. It's not too sweet, perfectly moist and just makes the upside down cake as a whole perfect. love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This is a small, versatile vanilla cake made with ingredients that are always on hand. Our family is small and we don't really need a big cake so it's perfect for us. I've used for cupcakes and strawberry shortcake, both with great results. While it is very simple, the flavor and texture are distinctly homemade--so much better than a mix, yet just as easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAMOM247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I made this cake a few different times. And it turn out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I've made this twice now and it's a good recipe. Fast, easy and tasty. I used raw sugar because that's what I had and along with vanilla, it made the cake taste and look delicious. A nice golden colour. I also used butter instead of shortening. Served it with warm, 'from scratch' lemon pie filling spooned over top and fresh strawberries and blueberries. It was a hit. Edit: Have made it 3 times now. Love it with the raw sugar and butter. This time I made the Seven Minute Pudding from this site, and served the pudding with sliced bananas and this cake, topped with chocolate sauce, parfait-style. Good stuff!! I love this recipe. So easy and versatile. This is a coarse-crumbed cake, like others have mentioned who didn't like it. So if you're looking for a finely textured cake, this wouldn't be it. I think of it as sort of the peasant version of cake. But mine have all been moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

American Flag Cake

Each slice of cake is decorated with an American flag. See the simple trick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States