Diner-Style Baked Potato Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This has become a weekend breakfast menu item in my home. My husband and I miss our NJ diners living in the south. He loves these home fries and reminds him of a diner in NJ! Delicious! This morning I added a little garlic and paprika. Just perfect, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Well thanks Gowins for making my taters look bad!! My family went nuts on these! And if I'm perfectly honest, I'll have to admit that I liked them too. I did add a clove or two of garlic, which I thought made them perfect. I think this is a good base. You can add herbs and spices to make these wonderful potatoes yours. I love recipes like this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Even better use leftover salt potatoes cut in to chunks. Have used for homefries in different kitchens I've worked and customers have gone nuts over them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
i added some bell pepper to the mix and a little red pepper flake and some chopped fresh garlic, good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Delicious. I have been making this for 50 years, but I add chopped bacon and some chopped green pepper to the potatoes while frying in butter and oil. (or chopped chili pepper for a Southwestern diversion - Mary J.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I used onion flakes ans some red pepper to give it some kick. I have a little one, and she hates onions, so I have to sneak them in where I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Point Marion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This is a good way to use up extra baked potatoes. I recommend peeling them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
the secret, which I never knew, is to bake the potatoes first (in the microwave is a great time/oven saver) and cook them on medium in an even amount of bacon grease and butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Have made my potato's this way for years and like my Mom, the key is to use bacon grease. Crispy outside and tender inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This is almost identical to the way I have always made them. Just bake extra potatoes while you are baking for another meal and refrigerate the rest until ready to fry. Leave the skins on for added flavor and color. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States