Diner-Style Baked Potato Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Be sure you refrigerate the potatoes till you use them. They can spoil just like any food left out too long. These are so good diced, sliced, or shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I like potatoes fixed any and all ways... I liked this recipe...but the potato does not get very crispie, they were too mushie... so the next time I made them I added the bacon drippings for crisping and flavor.. also used lawreys seasoning salt... yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda L. McClung Lamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I cooked these home fries in my cast iron skillet. I actually added two tablespoons of bacon grease to the skillet with the butter when I sauteed the onion as well as a good amount of fresh minced garlic. I sprinkled the potatoes with Johnny's Seasoning Salt instead of plain salt. The boys flipped over these home fries. I served them with "Egg Flipped Over" and homemade vanilla-glazed chocolate doughnuts. The great thing about home fries is a) they're really hard to mess up, b) they almost always make for a heartier breakfast, which is key when you're feeding a husband and two growing boys and c) you can totally make them personal to your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Easiest to make, added crumbled veggie bacon over finished dish before serving, also melted veggie cheese over top. My husband raved and raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curlycork

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Great recipe! I cut the potatoes into chunks instead of slices and used vegetable oil in place of butter. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I thought these were just okay. I tried to make it exactly as written. The potato slices were a bit fragile when frying, and either I didn't use a full 2 T. of butter, or I needed more, because I thought it was much too dry to fry properly. Since the results were somewhat bland, I added a few drops of habanera sauce after I plated these potatoes. They were okay, just nothing special; I think I'm partial to crispier, slightly wetter/greasier potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
not my style
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These were pretty good. The baked potatoes were a little mashed when I was cutting them. Must have cooked for too long. I had 4 in the microwave and so increased the time to 7 minutes each side...next time I'll stick with the 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
thanks so much. this is the best "secret" to know i have now gotten so many raves at brunches. hubby always asks if i am "baking extra" when i do potatoes now. i season them with a variety of spices or herbs depending on what they're to go with. i've also done fresh grated parm cheese, and one fine leftover day we used them to make chili cheese fries: stellar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Delish! Have never been happy with my home fries...guess baking before hand was the secret! Thanks so much. I did use more butter than called for =-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States