Diner-Style Baked Potato Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I thought these were just okay. I tried to make it exactly as written. The potato slices were a bit fragile when frying, and either I didn't use a full 2 T. of butter, or I needed more, because I thought it was much too dry to fry properly. Since the results were somewhat bland, I added a few drops of habanera sauce after I plated these potatoes. They were okay, just nothing special; I think I'm partial to crispier, slightly wetter/greasier potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
not my style
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These were pretty good. The baked potatoes were a little mashed when I was cutting them. Must have cooked for too long. I had 4 in the microwave and so increased the time to 7 minutes each side...next time I'll stick with the 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
thanks so much. this is the best "secret" to know i have now gotten so many raves at brunches. hubby always asks if i am "baking extra" when i do potatoes now. i season them with a variety of spices or herbs depending on what they're to go with. i've also done fresh grated parm cheese, and one fine leftover day we used them to make chili cheese fries: stellar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Delish! Have never been happy with my home fries...guess baking before hand was the secret! Thanks so much. I did use more butter than called for =-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for. I had leftover baked potatoes that I wanted to use up. I did add a sprinkle of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Oley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I have done this many times with left over potatoes. For true diner type potatoes I would also add color and flavor with a pinch or two of paprika or season salt and garlic powder. And, half the butter can be subtituted for half oil for an even crispier hashbrown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is the closest to diner style. I made this for my daughter and she loved it. Will make it again for sure!! TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WickedCreations

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Delicious! Easy to prepare. Good, nourishing, home-style cooking. Like several of the others, we used bacon fat saved from cooking bacon. We sliced the potatoes a bit thicker too, works either way. We also made a MAYONNAISE-SOUR CREAM-RANCH DRESSING-GARLIC SAUCE TO PUT ON TOP OF POTATOES AND TO DIP ACCOMPANYING SAUSAGES IN. I CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THESE DELICIOUS POTATOES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This is almost identical to my mothers recipe, the only real difference is that she adds a little onion powder. Mom boils the potatoes "with their jackets on" the day before and then uses a large dice instead of slices... Super delicious!! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States