Diner-Style Baked Potato Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I used onion flakes ans some red pepper to give it some kick. I have a little one, and she hates onions, so I have to sneak them in where I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Point Marion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This is a good way to use up extra baked potatoes. I recommend peeling them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
the secret, which I never knew, is to bake the potatoes first (in the microwave is a great time/oven saver) and cook them on medium in an even amount of bacon grease and butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Have made my potato's this way for years and like my Mom, the key is to use bacon grease. Crispy outside and tender inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This is almost identical to the way I have always made them. Just bake extra potatoes while you are baking for another meal and refrigerate the rest until ready to fry. Leave the skins on for added flavor and color. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Been doing this for AGES - this makes the BEST home fries ever. If you are doing one of those oversized farmer's breakfast (which we all need once in a while for comfort food!), you can do this in a tiny bit of bacon grease for flavor - just pour a little off the bacon and into your home fries pan and spread so that it is sparing. You can also bump it up in a big way with green or red pepper along with the onion, chopped ham if you have leftovers, shredded cheddar cheese ... use your cabinet and fridge as inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I do this often, ever so good. My Mother would cut up raw potato's and fry, I find they taste so fresh and they don't take long to do. Add oil and throw in some sliced potato's , they DON'T have to be in a single layer. Keep flipping them until they are golden brown and most of them are crisp. I sometimes will add chopped onion just before they are done, otherwise it will burn. Use a med-high heat for the potato's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Good basic recipe. Whenever I make baked potatoes I always bake a couple of extra potatoes so we can have Home Fries the next day. If you enjoy them extra crispy, like me, add some shortening to the skillet. "Bacon grease" is a must if you've made bacon, too. Use a combo of any BG, shortening and butter and you can't go wrong. (I don't use vegetable oil, as it tends to make the potatoes bland and "heavy" tasting.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This is how my mom always makes home fries. Sometimes she would leave the skin on and fry some onions to mix in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Add some green pepper slivers as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States