Dilly Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Without the sour cream, this is very close (but even better, I have to admit) than a cucumber salad that my mom used to make, and it always makes me think of summer (probably because we never had cucumbers any other time of the year - except in pickles). My changes were to decrease the sugar a bit (probably by 1/3), and I also sliced 1/2 onion very thinly and "pickled" it with the cucumber - just 'cause that's how mom did it! (Hint - slice the onions while the brine is cooking, and pour the brine over the onions to get them "pickling" while you slice the cukes; probably wouldn't need to do this if you had a sweet onion.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is so delicious! I used dried dill and next time I might cut back on the sugar. I also added some thin sliced red onion. This is great with or without the sour cream. I left half without it in the vinegar mixture. The other half I drained and added the sour cream. Both were great. There's no need to let this set overnight. It's done in a couple of hours in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I did not have enough time to refrigerate them overnight so I just let them sit for one hour and they were perfect. Could not get enough of them - they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I made a half-recipe of this salad using Splenda instead of sugar (I am diabetic) and added some sliced red onions. Used cider vinegar in the marinade, soaked overnight, then drained well and added sour cream. Wow, this was delightful! A sweet, tart, and creamy dressing on soft pickled cucumbers with plenty of dill. Makes a nice side dish to meats that like sweet accompaniments -- lamb or pork, for example. I just love it & it is going in my "favorites" book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Excellent cucumber salad! I added a teaspoon of minced garlic, only used 1/2 a cup of sugar, and threw in some red onions and cherry tomatoes. I also only refrigerated it for an hour and put extra fresh dill on the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Gorkiewicz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I didn't have fresh dill, so used dry dill weed instead and was still very good. I also did not cool overnight, only for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
delicious and "fresh". i cut the sugar in half and added 1/2 tsp celery seed to the vinegar mixture. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
My eastern European mother-in-law made a salad similiar this that turned up at every cook-out. This is soooo good and reminds me of hers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin' 2nite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I thought this recipe is great!! My 3 year old even loves it. We will be adding this to our summer dishes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This is really good. If you want to kick it up a notch, use rice vinegar and large grate a carrot with the cucumbers. Nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laidback

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States