Dilly Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is so delicious! I used dried dill and next time I might cut back on the sugar. I also added some thin sliced red onion. This is great with or without the sour cream. I left half without it in the vinegar mixture. The other half I drained and added the sour cream. Both were great. There's no need to let this set overnight. It's done in a couple of hours in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
BOTH MY HUSBAND AND I LOVED THIS SALAD. VERY GOOD! THANK YOU.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I have been trying to find this recipe for about 20 years! Served at a BBQ and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I hate to leave low reviews but this didn't turn out to what I expected. To much vinager flavor and sweet. I even added plain yogurt to try to help it take teh sweeten and vinager flavor away and that didn't help. I'm going to keep shopping for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe! It was so refreshing. Definately fit our bill for a warm summery day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
For some reason my husband didn't want me to add sour cream and wanted me to keep the vinegar mixture in as other recipes suggested, so I did. Half way thru the life of the salad, I added some sour cream and it was the most exceptional twist on making this salad complete. Even my husband admitted it was better with the sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
SO GOOD! I added a pinch of celery seed to the marinade and it really did deliver a nice depth of flavor. I've made this twice now, once marinating for a few hours and once marinating over night. The overnight marinade made a dramatic difference so I will be sure to do this the night before from now on. The sour cream is just enough to soften the strong tang of vinegar and dill without adding another strong flavor that competes with the nuances of the marinade. Served with french onion soup and fresh french bread for a nice light Saturday night dinner. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
delicious, I added an onion and would omit the sour cream next time, it added nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKFRENCH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Pretty good. I might add some red onion next time to add some color and flavor. I was asked for this recipe so some people seemed to really like it but I was kinda bored...and I like cucumbers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
delicious and "fresh". i cut the sugar in half and added 1/2 tsp celery seed to the vinegar mixture. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States