Dilly Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was a huge hit! I followed the recipe exactly. I can't wait to make it again! A few suggestions given to me, were to add fresh tomatoes with sour cream, and maybe even some sweet onion slices. Making more this afternoon for tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Love this- even without the sour cream! Very delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Awesome! I added onions to mine. I was amazed when I served it the next day that it tasted just like pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Sharon Dunkerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Excellent recipe. I followed it to the tee, except did not use sour cream. They were so good in the vinegar/sugar marinade, I didn't want to spoil the taste. I let them chill overnight. We ate them over the next few days. The previous reviewer complained about them being sugary: use 1/2 cup, rather than a full cup sugar. The result: tart, slightly sweet "pickles."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luann

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I hate to give this a bad review because I think this recipe just wasn't for us, but I followed the recipe exactly and eat more than a bite. If you didn't grow up eating this, beware- don't waste all your cucumbers! It really should be called sickeningly sweet sour cream pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This is now one of my family's favourite recipes. As written it is a little too sweet for our preferences so we usually use only 1/4 cup of sugar. Depending on timing, we have let it marinate as little as 1.5 hours and it is still very tasty. Dry or fresh dill both work equally well. We often add a couple of stalks of very thinly sliced celery and/or a small bunch of chopped fresh chives for a little added dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Excellent! I set them in the refrigerator to cool and never got to drain them and add the sour cream. They were gone before I knew it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This recipe was soo good! I added thinly sliced red onions per one reviewer's suggestion. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Sorry to say that with the sugar these were very, very sweet to me - and I only added 1-2 teaspoons! However the addition of the dill, and the method of preparation do add a lot to this salad; I've always just used the white vinegar, cucumbers, and white onion. Also, I didn't salt to cucumbers and didn't have a problem with any excess liquid. Next time I'll just omit the sugar and continue with the recipe otherwise. Thanks for sharing, June!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States