Dilly Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I like to brown the chicken in a little butter with some sliced onion and fresh minced garlic before layering it in the baking dish. I also increase the amount of onion soup mix to a full envelope. We like this over buttered egg noodles. It reminds me a little of swedish meatballs, only with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I didn't have sour cream so substituted cream cheese. Worked wonderfly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I added some mushrooms and thick onion slices but it was really runny and couldn't decide if it wanted to be a soup or a sauce. Not good enough to have again....I'll pass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Recently tried this recipe, I used three large boneless chicken breasts. My husband and I did NOT like this recipe - it basically tasted like boiled chicken with no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
My family enjoyed this recipe thanks to the help of some reviews. I think the recipe as-is would not be that great. I used chicken tenders which worked out great because there was no grease from the chicken and it cooked much faster. I also mixed all the ingredients in a bowl, and then poured it over the chicken which I seasoned w/ salt and pepper. I added about 3x more dill and I am soooo glad I did that, but next time I'll add even more! The sauce was really runny, and I wanted it to be more gravy-like so I ended up having to add some cornstarch to get the right consistency I wanted. I also added broccoli and corn to get some veggies in. Overall, this dish has a good flavor and it's fast and easy, which is always a thumbs up for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Using a crockpot as suggested by reviewer was not a good idea. The recipe has woderful flavor- will bake it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hickman, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I hate giving this a four star but I did make changes and it was not exactly a I'd give my right arm to eat this kind of dish. As per other reviewers I added more dill to my taste (Love Dill!) and more onion soup mix. It probably could have done with less milk but my boyfriend liked it that it wasn't thicker. I added a tablespoon or two of cream cheese. I'm not sure what this does to it, I've just seen it done with other recipes with cream of mushroom. I think it made it richer in taste, but I am still learning. I did also brown the chicken. I added the rest to the chicken, let it boil, then simmered 30 min. Next time I may use cream of chicken instead just because my boyfriend doesn't like mushrooms. Overall I really enjoyed it as a weekday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This recipe is delicious. My boyfriend and I tried this instead of a traditional Thanksgiving meal, and we were so happy we did! A jar of French Onion dip worked well as a substitute for sour cream and onion soup mix. I sauteed the chicken with ginger powder, minced garlic, and a splash of olive oil, and to the sauce I added sage and cilantro to taste and a tiny pinch of cream of tartar to thicken it. I did as suggested and cooked the whole thing on the burner. It came out absolutely moist and delicious, and we had enough gravy for two more meals (over potatoes, fried and baked both taste great). Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This came out gloppy for me. I won't be making this dish again. Glad that I added more dill as others suggested, otherwise it would have been a super flop of a dish. I used boneless/skinless chicken vs. bone-in, which I don't think would have changed the consistency too much. I made it based on most of the rave reviews, and found it disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Easy and good - it doesn't get any better than that. Thanks for the recipe Skipper72.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Oven-Fried Chicken II

See a delicious, healthier way to make fried chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States