Dilly Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
VERY salty!!! Every other dilly bean recipe I have seen uses 2 1/2 c water 2 1/2 c vinegar to 1/4c pickleing salt. not 1 c salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
I grew up in Utah and Dilly beans were all the rage. I must say it was never one of my favs. I do like how this one has peppers. I think the other person rating this did not see that this is a recipe for 8 jars, so one cup salt does not sound all that bad to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
You have to really like pickled green beans to enjoy this recipe! I also grew up in Utah, and yes, this is a popular way to preserve the mother load of green beans most people grow in their gigantic gardens here. I am not a huge fan of really spicy food, so I tweaked the amount of chile peppers. I only used two that I divided between the 8 jars. It gave it a little zing, but it was not over powering. REMEMBER, THIS IS FOR 8 PINT JARS! It isn't too salty if prepared correctly. Happy Canning! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Identical to my father's recipe- If you like pickled vegetables, this one is sure to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUESUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
The first time I tried dilly beans was over 10 years ago, and haven't had them since. I made them this summer out of our garden fare and these are delicious! On half the jars I left out the pepper and they are still delicious. I also used about 1/2 the pickling spice and 1/2 the mustard seed, and the flavor was still great. I might leave out all the pickling spice and put in all the mustard next time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I did not use the musturd seed this recipe calls for since the pickling spice I used had lots already. Husband LOVED!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebugs_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was only my second attempt at canning, but they came out great. They were pretty sour (made me pucker every time!), but my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
These seemed like they would be very sour, but I just rinsed them in cool water before serving and they are great. Just like pickles!! I added lots of garlic, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Our family has always been given homemade dilly beans for Christmas. I wanted to make some and hoped that they would come out AT LEAST as good as the ones we are usually given. THESE WERE BETTER! I followed the recipe exactly, but threw in a tiny bit more garlic for our Italian tastes! I will be making these every year from now on! P.S. This was only my second time canning! Give 'em a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redwood_Rider

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Yummmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Dilly Beans

These string beans will add zing to your salads all year long.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States