Dilly Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Really tasty. I used fresh jalepeno from the garden instead of dried chilis, and skipped pickling spice and added coriander. It is REALLY salty, though. I cut the recipe in half to work with the amount of beans I had, and still really salty. Next time I'll cut the salt in half, but it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Tried this recipe two weeks ago. Just opened the first jar . . . way too salty! Not much heat either. I have one jar I doubled the peppers & added a couple jalapeno slices to I'll try next week. But definitely cut this salt in half. they should be okay used in a Bloodymary, not bad flavor just salty & no heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank & Di

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I doubled the chili peppers and garlic and omitted the alum and everyone loved them. They really loved the extra garlic that I added as they love pickled garlic too, yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Crooked River Ranch, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These were good, but a little too much mustard for my preference. I brought them out for some friends to try. They really liked them and disagreed with me about the mustard. I think I will try them again next year but alter the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I made a large batch of these with some excess garden beans. They have a very nice bite to them and make an excellent addition to salads
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Processing time is not long enough. I suggest to process at least 15 minutes. I recommend the Pickled Green Beans recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Too salty. Use 1/2 cup pickling salt. No mustard seed, alum or pickling spice. use a few slices of jalep. peppers instead of chile peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Way to salty! Don't make these again! Big waste of time and lovely produce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was a great recipe. I used it to make pickles as well. The only thing I changed was to add hot peppers. HOT is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
We had been given a jar of dilly beans from someone that had thier own (differnt) recipe. We loved them so much we wanted to try and make our own and tried this recipe. We followed the recipe just how it said since it was our first time making it. Waited patiantly two weeks to see how they turned out... And they were WAY TO SALTY! plus, they were not spicy :( We know from the other ones we had been given that they dont have to be that salty for sure! Next time we will cut way back on the salt content. Also. After being disappointed about no spice we put some cayanne into the jar and left it over night. Now they are spicy, but still to salty. So the lesson here is add cayanne at canning time if you want them to be spicy and use less salt! I think we will be trying to get our friends recipe instead but if they wont give it up we will try again with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Dilly Beans

These string beans will add zing to your salads all year long.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States