Dilly Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
We had been given a jar of dilly beans from someone that had thier own (differnt) recipe. We loved them so much we wanted to try and make our own and tried this recipe. We followed the recipe just how it said since it was our first time making it. Waited patiantly two weeks to see how they turned out... And they were WAY TO SALTY! plus, they were not spicy :( We know from the other ones we had been given that they dont have to be that salty for sure! Next time we will cut way back on the salt content. Also. After being disappointed about no spice we put some cayanne into the jar and left it over night. Now they are spicy, but still to salty. So the lesson here is add cayanne at canning time if you want them to be spicy and use less salt! I think we will be trying to get our friends recipe instead but if they wont give it up we will try again with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Hagerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I use a mixture of water, salt and vinegar for the brine, then add garlic cloves, cayenne pepper and dill to the jars with the beans. Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Rutt
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
1st try at canning! I thought it turned out pretty good. I think they are a little salty and not quite spicy enough. But pretty good for a first try anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Oh my gosh these are good! I completely forgot the mustard seed and can't wait to make them again and include it. I also doubled the amount of dried peppers because my husband and I both like spicy things. What a great way to preserve summer's bounty of green beans! This was my first try at pickling beans and WOW! Loved it! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
These are wonderful! Been making them for years and the salt to water to vinegar ratio is spot on. Love the addition of pickling spice and mustard. Try them in a bloody Mary or on your next relish tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Yummmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Our family has always been given homemade dilly beans for Christmas. I wanted to make some and hoped that they would come out AT LEAST as good as the ones we are usually given. THESE WERE BETTER! I followed the recipe exactly, but threw in a tiny bit more garlic for our Italian tastes! I will be making these every year from now on! P.S. This was only my second time canning! Give 'em a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redwood_Rider

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
These seemed like they would be very sour, but I just rinsed them in cool water before serving and they are great. Just like pickles!! I added lots of garlic, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was only my second attempt at canning, but they came out great. They were pretty sour (made me pucker every time!), but my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I did not use the musturd seed this recipe calls for since the pickling spice I used had lots already. Husband LOVED!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebugs_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Dilly Beans

These string beans will add zing to your salads all year long.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States