Dilly Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I use a mixture of water, salt and vinegar for the brine, then add garlic cloves, cayenne pepper and dill to the jars with the beans. Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Rutt
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
1st try at canning! I thought it turned out pretty good. I think they are a little salty and not quite spicy enough. But pretty good for a first try anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Oh my gosh these are good! I completely forgot the mustard seed and can't wait to make them again and include it. I also doubled the amount of dried peppers because my husband and I both like spicy things. What a great way to preserve summer's bounty of green beans! This was my first try at pickling beans and WOW! Loved it! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
These are wonderful! Been making them for years and the salt to water to vinegar ratio is spot on. Love the addition of pickling spice and mustard. Try them in a bloody Mary or on your next relish tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Yummmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Our family has always been given homemade dilly beans for Christmas. I wanted to make some and hoped that they would come out AT LEAST as good as the ones we are usually given. THESE WERE BETTER! I followed the recipe exactly, but threw in a tiny bit more garlic for our Italian tastes! I will be making these every year from now on! P.S. This was only my second time canning! Give 'em a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redwood_Rider

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
These seemed like they would be very sour, but I just rinsed them in cool water before serving and they are great. Just like pickles!! I added lots of garlic, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was only my second attempt at canning, but they came out great. They were pretty sour (made me pucker every time!), but my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I did not use the musturd seed this recipe calls for since the pickling spice I used had lots already. Husband LOVED!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebugs_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
The first time I tried dilly beans was over 10 years ago, and haven't had them since. I made them this summer out of our garden fare and these are delicious! On half the jars I left out the pepper and they are still delicious. I also used about 1/2 the pickling spice and 1/2 the mustard seed, and the flavor was still great. I might leave out all the pickling spice and put in all the mustard next time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Dilly Beans

These string beans will add zing to your salads all year long.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States