Dilled Sole with Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Used basa filets; note to self - pat dry the fish first next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This recipe is so easy and quick to make. The cornmeal may seem different to some, but it really is good, especially since I can't have wheat (which eliminates a lot of recipes that call for "breading"). DH doesn't care for lemon-pepper seasoning, so I use pepper and whatever else I have on hand, usually garlic powder, onion powder, etc. Aside from the dill, I use about 1/2 tsp of all seasonings that are combined with the cornmeal (although I have made this so much that I no longer really measure them). Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very bland, had to use chili sauce to liven up. If I make again, I will use Panko breadcrumbs instead of cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was SO good. I added a little extra butter and used the drippings from the pan to flavor the side of broccoli I served with it. Great, light taste that didn't overwhelm the fish itself. Even my toddler cleaned his plate (minus the broccoli :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Honestly, I thought this was boring. I couldn't taste the dill or the lemon peel I added to compensate for not having lemon pepper. It needed more than 1 TB of butter to cook the fish. It wasn't bad, due to the butter and nuts, but the recipe is not worth saving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I made this with flounder fillets, since that was what I had in the freezer. They didn't cook well on the stovetop, so I baked them in the oven for 15-ish minutes at 350 F. End result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I was looking forward to a new way to have sole, but I was not impressed with this one. It was very dry and the cornmeal overpowered the delicate flavor of the sole. I used extra dill and couldn't really taste it either over the cornmeal. A positive is that my 16 month old LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamabird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Family loved it! This recipe made my "keep list". I also made a dill sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
A great way to make Dover Sole. Although I am a fish lover, my husband can take it or leave it. He was very complimentary of this dish, so I felt that was a real accomplishment. Since Dover Sole is a thinner fillet, it can be difficult to prepare, too. This was a great recipe. I did, however, find that I needed slightly more than the stated amount of cornmeal, and I used just a teaspoon or so more dill than the recipe listed. Excellent flavor with the butter and almonds added at the end, and the fish was not overcooked or bland at all. A very delicate flavor. I will definitely be making this recipe again. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oureatinghabits
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Quite possible the best fsh I have ever made. My kids even asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States