Dilled Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful garlic recipe! I make it every 3 weeks or so and always have a few jars in the fridge.I am prone to colds but since eating garlic raw & pickled I have not gotten sick.I also love eating this recipe with artichoke hearts packed in brine.I also add sliced lemon to the jar to give it a crisp, tangy freshness.Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I love the flavor, but two things happened that I was wondering how to deal with, so if anyone knows the answer, please help. The garlic is very strong and 2 or so cloves on their own give me a heartburn. Is it seasonal problem (winter garlic) & could it be fixed by blanching garlic before pickling? By whatever reason there are blue streaks on my garlic. Bright blue. Never remember that happening with my aunt's pickled garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
delicious flavor, but garlic still comes out mushy in the middle. I guess I'll have to keep looking for a recipe where the garlic stays crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I don't know what I did wrong but I did not care for this recipe. I have no doubt that I somehow screwed it up. I make lots of things from here and love everything. I'm a HUGE garlic fan. I put it in EVERYTHING! Somehow, some of the garlic turned bright blue. Not sure what that was about and the taste was so bad I couldn't swallow it. I eat raw garlic, pealed, as is. I don't understand what I did wrong. Certainly not my favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Definately a hit at the office and the local nationals here in Germany love it. I do cook the garlic briefly to speed up the process. Either way, it's good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is so easy & tasty. Per the prior suggestions I did boil the garlic for 30 seconds and it was so easy to peal! My boyfriend said these were great and he liked the bite to them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashley, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Several of the reviews mentioned sugar. There's no sugar in this recipe. Those reviews should be moved to Laura's Pickled Garlic. HOWEVER, I combined both recipes and the garlic lovers in my family really enjoyed them. I used garlic that had been already peeled. LOL. Also used whole peppercorns and more dill than called for by either recipe. Also, I live at an elevation of 7200' so I did the waterbath method of canning for 30 minutes and they were wonderful. Family didn't wait more than 24 hours before they started eating these pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
These are absolutely delicious. I halved the recipe and added three full heads of fresh dill and three little dried red chinese peppers. I've been nibbling on them since I popped them in the fridge three hours ago. By the time they're fully seasoned, I'm afraid I won't have any left to appreciate the true cured flavor. I even cheated and bought already peeled garlic. It doesn't get any easier. That previous reviewer was quite right. It's not a harsh, unpalatable garlic flavor. It does really mellow. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manitou Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Very good! I made this recipe last summer and forgot to review it. I was actually scared to try the garlic, but the pickling really mellows it out. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Delicious, crunchy and spicy! FYI to other reviewers, sugar is a preservative, so while it's not necessary, it's helpful. It also brigns out the flavor of the garlic. I didn't have any cayenne so I put a dried Japanese chili pod in each jar. Hot and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States